Owen's Mozzarella and Tomato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
Although this is called "Owens Mozzarella and Tomato Salad" most people are familiar w/ the name Tomato Caprese. We served this w/ basil pesto on the side. Will post a picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
I got beat out- I gave it a 5 star, but 2 people gave it 4. They didn't think it needed the mozzarella at all. But, it is still a very good recipe overall, with great flavor. We didn't use fresh cheese because the store didn't have any at the time. We left it sit out for the 1/2 hour instead, to let the flavors blend better. I think it's better then having it cold. But, will definitely make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manlius, Illinois, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
OK - this is totally one of my favorite salads. I used cherry tomatoes instead of regular because I bought a hugh box of them at Costco. They are just the right size and they "pop" in your mouth. I also added some balsamic vinegar to the olive oil and tossed this with gourmet salad greens. I know I've changed the recipe around a little, but it did not affect the overall flavor of this recipe. Thankx Dell. PS. I see the "police" have removed part of my review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
Delicious. Instead of olive oil and balsamic vinegar, I added a balsamic vinagrette to mine after I layered my tomoatoes and mozzarella. Once the balsamic vinagrette was on I sprinkled fresh basil over the top. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
Yumm! I added a little balsamic and a little salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
Another fantastic way to eat tomatoes! The cheese was an "extra nice touch!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
used all the freshes. Was so so. probably wont make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
One of my favorite salads. I did add a drizzle of balsamic vinegar over the tomatoes at the end for extra flavor. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
I love this salad...I ate this all summer long. The only thing I added was balsamic vinegar...Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
Wow, this was amazingly good. The fresh mozzarella *makes* this dish! I've made it a couple of times, and added a bit of tarragon vinegar to the salad the second time around. It's delicious either way. Definitely on my list for when I want to make something simple, yet hearty and appetizing. A "must-not-miss".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States