Owen's Mozzarella and Tomato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Super! Let fresh mozzarella reach room temperature to achieve fullest flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This is a classic caprese salad. I'm not sure what Owen invented in all this! Lots of ways to make it better: Make sure you use fresh mozarella. The best is buffalo mozzarella. Bocconcini are also fun to use. Make sure you use good sea salt of kosher salt. Fleur de sel is great if you can find it. Finally, only use a high-quality extra virgin olive oil for dressings. If you want to liven it up a bit, try a bit of dried oregano. Better yet, a few drops of aged balsamic vinegar or vin cotto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This was good. Will definitely add this the family's meal rotation. The quality of the cheese is the key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malleesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Definitely add a splash of good balsamic vinegar and everyone is right, only fresh mozzarella! So simple, and so delicious! You'll never want any other tomato salad after tasting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GREENBEENS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Good! I used a little balsamic vinegar in mine and chopped my tomatoes and mozzarella into cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I always add a touch of basalmic vingar, and I cut the tomatoes and fresh mozzarella into chunks. One of my "go to" recipes during the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Great salad. I also cubed the cheese and tomatoes. I added sliced green olives into it for an extra flavor. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolfgirlDana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Great basic recipe. I skipped the oil and drizzled with balsamic vinegar instead. Lower calories, and just as tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellenmoriah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This was OK, but really no flavors. I make a vinagrette for it. 3T olive oil, 1-1/2 T red wine vinegar, 1 clove garlic pressed. Mixed together and pour over the dish. Then I added some fresh parmesan on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Andre' Fox

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This is simply a Caprese salad without the balsamic vinegar. Add some and make sure you use fresh mozzarella and then you will have a good, traditional Italian salad. On it's own this salad is bland, albeit still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States