Owen's Mozzarella and Tomato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Balsamic vinegar is a must!! Personally I would skip the cracked pepper and just sprinkle seasoned salt. The tomatoes you choose really impact the entire dish. I love those small tomatoes on the vine from Costco, which is also where I get the mozzarella. Also, I prefer the salad at room temperature, so I would definitely serve it immediately. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Known by the Italian name of Insalata Capresse which is traditionally served as Owen's recipe indicates ~ no balsamic vinegar. The key to this dish is using FRESH ingredients. My family enjoys this salad using JUST picked tomatoes and basil from the garden and fresh mozzarella known as "burrata" which is made in the Puglia region in the south of Italy and is considered an artisanal cheese (the name "burrata" means "buttered" in Italian). Usually you can find buratta in specialty food stores... The outer shell is solid mozzarella while the inside contains both mozzarella and cream, giving it an unusual, soft texture and is usually served fresh, at room temperature. I serve this with a splash of GOOD balsamic vinegar with sea salt and fresh cracked pepper. Serve with a fresh crusty loaf of bread and a bottle of Rose or Viognier which are fruity wines that pair well with this disn and one is in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Buffalo mozzarella is a little more expensive, but worth it by far. Fresh tomatoes and cheese at room temperature works best for us. salt and balsamic vinegar is a must. Just outstanding!! Pairs well with Mediterranian style dishes and a nice glass of White Sangria for agreat summertime,dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Sensational as is, but I like to turn this into an appetizer. Thinly slice a baguette on the bias, brush with olive oil, and toast. Rub one side of the toasted baguette with a clove of garlic (the toasted baguette will act like sandpaper to the garlic). Start off with a slice of prosciutto, then the tomato and fresh mozzarella, topped with the basil. A single crank of fresh cracked pepper and sea salt, finishes it off Will likely be one of the best things you ever put in your mouth. Fresh is key, use garden basil and tomato when possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Nice simple recipe - perfect for a light summer meal. I use fresh mozzarella and add thinly sliced onions to the layers. Then top with pesto and a sprinkle of balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Call it "Owen's Salad" or call it by it's more traditional name "Insalata Caprese" - I call it just plain GOOD! Tomato and basil are a classic combination and when paired with fresh mozzarella you have something so simple and so delicious you could make a meal out of this all by itself! I like to add a bit of sea salt along with fresh cracked black pepper. I NEVER refridgerate this and if you want to add a bit of pizzaz add a splash of good quality balsamic - perfect served with Italian bread and a nice wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I cannot believe how good this is! Extremely easy to put together, this is ideal for a prepare ahead salad. For best results, you must use fresh mozzarella and fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This was ok, it was a little too bland for me. If I make it again I will add salt and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This is so simple, but the flavor combination is amazing. It tastes best at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
made this at a friends house when my child and I were invited to dinner. Not only did all the adults love it, my son couldn't get enough either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Tomato Dirt Salad

See how to make a fresh tomato, mushroom, and mozzarella salad.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States