Owen's Mozzarella and Tomato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 26, 2004
This tastes good and is very easy to make. I made sure I used a quality olive oil and fresh mozzarella. I also added 2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
You simply *MUST* use FRESH mozzarella cheese to fully appreciate this recipe. I can't even imagine it with the bland, hard stuff you find in the dairy case at grocery stores. Fresh mozzarella is a bit difficult to find but it's worth the effort. Try specialty stores. I like to slice fresh tomatoes, sprinkle with sea salt, add torn pieces of fresh basil, then the mozzarella. Drizzle all with a good quality extra virgin olive oil combined with a splash of balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
Also known as insalata caprese. Definitely throw in some balsamic vinegar and fresh cracked black pepper. Use the best quality olive oil you can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
To use what I had on hand (which right now is a million cherry tomatoes from the garden!)I made this with shredded cheese and cherry tomatoes. I tossed it all together and served it in bowls. This is a great combination of flavors, and I plan to make it again this coming weekend for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
great, simple recipe that tastes wonderful and fresh. i didn't have any whole mozzarella on hand so i put lots of shredded mozzarella on top of the tomato slices and then broiled it for a few minutes until melted and slightly browned. added the fresh basil and it was done! i also drizzled balsamic vinegar on the tomato slices along with the olive oil and pepper. very tasty and perfect with an italian-style meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
I did something a bit different with this recipe and it worked well. I diced the tomotoes and cubed the cheese. Served it in a bowl like a salad. Everyone loved it. Will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
This is a very fresh and extremely easy salad. It was excellent. I do agree with the other reviewer who said to add balsamic vinegar, it makes it yummier. I highly recommend this for a quick and delicious salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bern, Bern, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
We served this at a family picnic and it was a big hit. We brought the ingrediants seperate and put it together at the picnic. Everyone really enjoyed this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
I made this recipe for 50 people and served it before my special lasagna recipe. I didn't know how it would go but took a chance because it's so easy to make.....well they loved it!!!! Gotta keep this one in the file for a future date. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
I added 2 tbs. of balsamic vinegar. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States