Overnight Refrigerator Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I didn't care for this. I usually make oatmeal the night before: bring my water to boil, put in oatmeal with a pinch of salt and cook with a heat diffuser under pot for 5 minutes, shut off heat and let sit all night. Then I just heat in the morning. But this just tasted slimy and uncooked to me. When I worked in an office a woman ate her oatmeal like this so I was curious. Thanks for recipe as I know some people just love it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
So easy! I searched for the simplest overnight oatmeal recipe and this did the trick. After a few tries, I've modified the following: I use half a container of greek yogurt instead of measuring a half cup. I use 1% milk instead of almond milk. I really want grab & go, so I added the fruit when I made it, not the next morning. Sliced bananas and frozen strawberries are a winner. Frozen blueberries didn't translate. I make them two at a time and so far the jar that sat an extra day was better. I might try extending the times to see if I could make four in a batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coletteshaw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as specified, using almond milk and peach flavored greek yogurt. I personally didn't care for it. I think I was expecting more of a muesli texture. This had a much richer, almost slimy texture and the oatmeal was chewy in a stale-sort-of way. Maybe if I switched to a regular yogurt instead of a greek yogurt I would like it better, but I think I will look for a different recipe instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I d not precook the oatmeal!!!!! There are endless possibilities! I love it with crushed pineapple. I add some of the juice from the can instead of milk and I never use that much milk. I also add some chia seeds. I make an entire weeks worth and take it to work for breakfast. I also add my fruit at night (except bananas). This is an easy and great breakfast - or snack :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I make a few of these to have them ready for when I am in a hurry. Somebody mentioned precooking the oatmeal but it is not necessary since rolled oats will soften over night and be as if cooked. This is perfect for the family on the go. Make each one up according to personal tastes. Your family will love you 8)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I would add to cook the oatmeal first, then add the ingredients. Some people may not know:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Just really liked this and all of its possibilities. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
This was so easy and pretty good, I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockerChick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This is a great baseline recipe for you to tweak according to what your tastes are or what you happen to have available. It's easy enough to change out the type of milk, yogurt, or fruit. I used unsweetened almond milk, non-fat vanilla Greek yogurt, and bananas in one small jar and blueberries in the other. I also needed some Truvia to sweeten it up a bit. Half the recipe was plenty for my breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by DumbleDog
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Great easy recipe. You don't exactly need the jar, but if you want to use it, it's still fun. I used regular milk, but sweetened it with honey. I definitely recommend adding fruit before you serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States