Overnight Pork Roast With Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Because of time constraints, I applied the rub to the pork just before cooking. To ease preparations, I skipped all the steps about sauteing a little at a time - I just put all the veggies into a big roasting pan and sauteed them all at once until the cabbage had wilted,then put the roast (unbrowned) on top of the veggies and slid it into the oven. It was awesome - I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2001
This was good, and definately worth trying, but when I make this again I will reduce the amounts black pepper and caraway seeds, it was a bit spicy for my family as is. I think with those revisions it will be delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
very good recipe- my family does not like me to cook with beer so I used apple juice instead (good results). I used beef stock in place of the broth (more flavor, less salt). I cut the cabbage in chunks instead of shredding it (my wife's preference)and I just quartered some potatoes and cooked them with the roast. I sliced the meat and served it atop the vegetables - pleasing to the eye and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Norton Shores, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
Excellent recipe-the cabbage, carrots, and caraway blend nicely--with the carrots adding a sweetness that complemented the pork. The pork was very moist and tender, one of the moistest roasts I've cooked. My brother-in-law said he really liked it, and he doesn't even like cabbage! Also, I was worried that the caraway would overpower the meat, and it didn't. I did cook my potatoes separately and just served the carved roast on the bed of vegetables. Definitely worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2001
Really great! I used sauerkraut instead of cabbage and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
I just prepared this dish for family and friends, it received great reviews. It can all be prepared ahead so no fuss in kitchen when guests were here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
I don't try out new recipes on guests, but this one was 'on deck' to be roasted when unexpected company came by. Everyone raved over it! Make some mashed potatoes, crusty bread and serve a green salad with this one. The aroma alone will bring the neighbors over to see what's cookin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monrovia, Indiana, USA
Living In: Poland, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I've made this three times, the first time with cabbage,the last 2 times with sauerkraut. Definitely better with the sauerkraut. I used chicken broth instead of beer. Do crush the caraway seeds.I didn't think it would make a difference, but it was a more mellow flavor when crushed.Tried it once in the crock pot, not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2001
i made this for new years day and substituted sauerkraut for the cabbage. the roast was absolutely delicious!!! it may have been better with cabbage though. i will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
I was hoping for more flavor then what it ended up with, especially for the amount of time you need to put into making this. Tasted alright, although somewhat bland, probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC03

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States