Overnight French Toast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I found this recipe after I couldn't find my mother's recipe for Skiiers French Toast....I love this recipe! There were many complaints about this recipe, but I didn't have any problems. Here are some things I did do that weren't clear in the directions....I used the whole loaf of bread making a double layer. I doubled the syrup recipe, pouring most of it on the bottom and a little in between layers, but not using all of it just in case it would be too sweet. I did not time the baking, I just kept checking on it while the kids opened their Christmas presents, but I really don't think it took too much time....maybe a little over the recommended 45 minutes. I just watched it till the top started to brown. It was not mushy, or too sweet...I really think it was just right. I did use a Pampered Chef stoneware baking dish, maybe that's why I didn't have any problems with the syrup getting hard after it cooled. I hate to say it, but I like this recipe better than my mom's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This was wonderful. I added more egg mixture to it to 'fill' my pan more so. You have to eat right away otherwise it gets stuck to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Horn Nelson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Powdersville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This is one of my husband's favorites!! He's not a big fan of sweets but asks for this often. I just finished putting it together for Christmas morning tomorrow(at his request). I use day old french bread from Jimmy Johns. I also use regular ol' pancake syrup instead of corn syrup since I always have that in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Olivehurst, California, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This was really good and the family loved it. I only deviated from the recipe because I had to; i.e. used half n half (out of milk) and 2T. maple syrup (out of corn syrup). Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marcijsmiles
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
ok, so i had to write a review because this turned out amazingly yummy! i realized i had no corn syrup on hand and decided to use honey instead. i also used regular sandwich bread which is what i had, and added ceylon cinnamon as well. finally i sprinkled cinnamon sugar all over the top before baking and dotted the top with butter. i did bake for 60 min which was perfect. all i have to say is wow, wow, wow! i will definitely be making this again. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcijsmiles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Campo, Texas, USA
Living In: Kemah, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I've made this a few times. A couple with french bread and a couple w/ a loaf of cinnamon bread. Personally, I liked it better w/ french, but hubby likes it w/ the cinnamon. It's a great recipe. Making again this weekend for family coming in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I make this all the time! Everyone LOVES it! The only thing I do differently is use maple syrup instead of corn syrup. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Fantastic recipe. Everyone we have ever served it to loves it. Suggestions: bake it a little longer - maybe 60 minutes, which reduces the sogginess some other reviewers mentioned; make it with cinnamon raisin bread for over-the-top decadence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This was really good and easy to prepare. For the most part, I followed the recipe except that I used a different kind of bread and sprinkled cinnamon all over the top. My husband thought it tasted like a cinnamon roll. Some of the bread was a bit soggy but I didn't mind. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This was fun to throw together the night before and just pop in the oven in the morning. I thought it was pretty good, wasn't thrilled with the flavor - thought it needed maple syrup instead of corn syrup and definitely cinnamon too. I followed the recipe exactly for the first time making it though. My husband and son both loved it though - my hubby had never had overnight French toast and I think he was very pleasantly surprised! The crisp edges are a nice contrast to the moist and tender center pieces. I also suggest cutting your bread into less pieces - maybe more like 10 total pieces. I cut mine smaller and had a hard time fitting them all in the 9x13 pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States