Overnight French Toast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Yum! Very good. The bottom layer had a caramel flavor to it that was wonderful. I did not have any issues with the bread being soggy or the bottom sticking to the pan. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
would do again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This recipe was delish, and easy. I have done this a few times, but by far my favorite substitution was to use cinnamon bread! Trying it again tomorrow with just raisin bread... we'll see!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This is a great idea but need perfecting. I couldn't eat it because the syrup hardened like a rock almost instantly (I am still trying to get it off my casserole dish)and the bread was a little too soggy for my liking. But if using a different syrup and adding a little more flavor to the eggs like some cinnamon it could be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Made this for a potluck at work and got rave reviews. So easy to throw together. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Delicious! I used maple syrup instead of corn syrup. I used french bread that I left out over night to get a little crispy. I also did what others suggested and soaked the bread for about an hour and a half instead of over night. The finished product was nice and crispy on the top and chewy and sweet on the bottom. I will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Good recipe! I changed serving size from 5 to 7, and baked in a 10 x 13 pan. Actually had two layers of french bread, and think it might have been better to not increase and only have one layer, although I had no trouble with both layers getting cooked through, although it's not going to be "firm", even when thoroughly cooked. I dumped it upside down on a serving tray to make sure it didn't stick, and it didn't ... don't understand the people who complained about it hardening in the pan or turning hard! Good layer of sweetness, but not overpowering, although no one felt like it needed either butter or additional syrup! Nice to be able to make this the night before and just stick it in the oven when we woke up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Wonderful. I didn't have any problems with sticking. I used Pepperidge Farm pumpkin spice bread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TashiLynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Family loved it! Very easy to follow directions. I sprayed the bottom of the pan, so none stuck. Added cinnamon and nutmeg...thought it was great. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kate13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Great recipe! It will serve 8, if needed. This was the first item to go at my breakfast that included five other casseroles. Easy to make but has great flavor and impact. We did not serve syrup on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States