Overnight French Toast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
This is the best recipe for overnight French toast I've ever tried. My kids are on a swim team and we host a meet twice a year. The people running hospitality just volunteer me to bring this without even asking. I even did it once with the layer of caramel on the bottom, a layer of cinnamon raisin country bread, another layer of caramel, and the final layer of regular baguette. It was amazing! Look no further for a breakfast that will impress. Jane
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Yum! Very good. The bottom layer had a caramel flavor to it that was wonderful. I did not have any issues with the bread being soggy or the bottom sticking to the pan. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
would do again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This recipe was delish, and easy. I have done this a few times, but by far my favorite substitution was to use cinnamon bread! Trying it again tomorrow with just raisin bread... we'll see!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This is a great idea but need perfecting. I couldn't eat it because the syrup hardened like a rock almost instantly (I am still trying to get it off my casserole dish)and the bread was a little too soggy for my liking. But if using a different syrup and adding a little more flavor to the eggs like some cinnamon it could be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Made this for a potluck at work and got rave reviews. So easy to throw together. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Delicious! I used maple syrup instead of corn syrup. I used french bread that I left out over night to get a little crispy. I also did what others suggested and soaked the bread for about an hour and a half instead of over night. The finished product was nice and crispy on the top and chewy and sweet on the bottom. I will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Good recipe! I changed serving size from 5 to 7, and baked in a 10 x 13 pan. Actually had two layers of french bread, and think it might have been better to not increase and only have one layer, although I had no trouble with both layers getting cooked through, although it's not going to be "firm", even when thoroughly cooked. I dumped it upside down on a serving tray to make sure it didn't stick, and it didn't ... don't understand the people who complained about it hardening in the pan or turning hard! Good layer of sweetness, but not overpowering, although no one felt like it needed either butter or additional syrup! Nice to be able to make this the night before and just stick it in the oven when we woke up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Wonderful. I didn't have any problems with sticking. I used Pepperidge Farm pumpkin spice bread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TashiLynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Family loved it! Very easy to follow directions. I sprayed the bottom of the pan, so none stuck. Added cinnamon and nutmeg...thought it was great. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kate13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States