Overnight French Toast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This was a huge hit on Christmas Day. I made a few changes: eliminated corn syrup, added ginger, cinnamon sugar, apple pie spice and used Montana Mills/Great Harvest Cinnamon Swirl Bread. It was awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Normally after we open our gifts on Christmas morning, we grab a quick bite and then rush around getting ready to spend the day with family and friends. To my hubby and children's delight, I made an executive decision to have Christmas at home. Everyone asked me to make a huge breakfast and this recipe was part of my menu. I can't tell you how much this was loved! I used challah bread, only soaked for about an hour and a half, didn't use the corn syrup, added lots of cinnamon and because I had it around for the holiday, I replaced the milk with eggnog. Once done, I turned the casserole upside down onto a dish. The caramalized sauce ran all down the sides and looked really pretty. Thanks Sarah for a great recipe that didn't even taste like french toast; more like a very yummy gooey pastry. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Extremely easy and a big hit with my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I bought the wrong kind of bread, but it still turned out pretty good. It was a little too sweet for me, it tasted more like a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
WOW! Great the first day, but actually it was better the 2nd and 3rd day. Right out of the oven, it was a bit runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HealthyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
We have breakfast Friday's where I work in which a group of us alternate the responsibility. I always make something instead of buying it, and so I made this for our breakfast today and received many compliments! I did toast my french bread for about 10 minutes before adding it to the syrup. I placed slices of bread first and then filled in the gaps with quarted pieces of bread. (I used french baguettes) So there was some "crunch" to go with the softer bread at the bottom. It was a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
This was really good. I used Oat-N-Honey bread that I made from this site and that fit nicely wit the dish. I also used buttermilk instead of regular milk and added 1 tsp of cinnamon. I did not have problems with soggyness, nor did the sauce on the bottom stick to anything or get hard. It was absorbed into the bottom of the bread and came out of the pan very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Wonderful! Took this to my cooking club and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
this was so good. even my picky 2 year old ate this and asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morton, Washington, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
We were away for the weekend and made this for the people we stayed with and their children. Big hit all around. The egg part got custard-y which was really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Little Neck, New York, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States