Overnight French Toast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Simple and Fantastic. My husband visited Alaska and told me about the BEST overnight french toast he had and bought me the recipe back from the cook:) The recipe is exactly the same except I invert the pan when it is done cooking onto a serving platter and the syrup/sauce doesn't cause it to harden in the pan and it looks pretty to present dusted with powder sugar and toasted coconut. I have make this about 25 times for company and holidays, a MUST to eat!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammy:)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rutland, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Taking the advice of others, I cut the sugar in half, added cinnamon, and used raisin bread cut 1" thick. Because of the raisins I thought the sweet was just right, but if you didn't have them it would have needed a bit more than the 1/2 C I put in. I also let it sit only for an hour in the fridge before baking. Whole family loved it! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sweet Home, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
I loved it! It was quick easy and made a great presentation with the built in syrup, I put some fresh strawberries on the top and fed 5 people easily. Thanks so much I used day old french bread reduced at the grocery store and it was really a budget friendly brunch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
The liquid was really too much - I had to syphon quite a bit off. Maybe I needed a heartier bread(?) This is really probably enough mix to make two 9 x 13 pans. Very sticky texture and other than "sweet" just not a lot of flavor. Although the sugar addict in the house said it was "the bomb."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Great breakfast. We had this on Christmas and it will become a new tradition, next up Easter. I used corn syrup with the vanilla already in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Really really good. We used two more eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This was really good! Definitely sweet so beware if that is not your cup of tea. I used italian bread because that was all my market had other than that I followed the recipe. I left it the frig for 24 hours. I was worried that it would be dry but it wasn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I made this for my family and they loved it!!! This is a great easy recipe, and did I mention delicious? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I chose this recipe for a brunch I was throwing. Since my oven was cooking the Brunch Enchiladas I used my slowcooker instead. I prepared this recipe exactly as is except using my Crockpot. I cooked this overnight sensation for 6 hours on low. This was soooo good! I think the crockpot add to the flavor. Everyone wanted the recipe! I will definitely fix this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Simple and delicious! I made this on Christmas morning (very early) so it didn't have overnight to soak up the eggs and it was still great. My family truly enjoyed munching on this in front of the fireplace, while sipping champagne mimosa's in our PJ's (our "kids" are grown, while we opened gifts. It will definitley become a family favorite. I added cinnamon and sprinkled the top w/ brown sugar. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States