Overnight French Toast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
The caramel almost burned after the recommended 45 minutes. It became so hard that it was almost impossible to break with a fork. The bread didn't set enough so the middle was mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This french toast is sooo good. Its like heaven in my mouth. Because it is not so healthy we only have it once and a while
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Made this this morning. I used brown sugar cinnamon bread added vanilla and cut the milk by 1/2 cup. I let it sit long enough to soak the bread entirely. It turned out fine (not soggy)but was just too sweet(possibly b/c of the bread?) and it wasn't anything special. It wasn't bad, but I'll look for something else to make the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JodyVTPT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
This is the best recipe for overnight French toast I've ever tried. My kids are on a swim team and we host a meet twice a year. The people running hospitality just volunteer me to bring this without even asking. I even did it once with the layer of caramel on the bottom, a layer of cinnamon raisin country bread, another layer of caramel, and the final layer of regular baguette. It was amazing! Look no further for a breakfast that will impress. Jane
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Yum! Very good. The bottom layer had a caramel flavor to it that was wonderful. I did not have any issues with the bread being soggy or the bottom sticking to the pan. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
would do again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This recipe was delish, and easy. I have done this a few times, but by far my favorite substitution was to use cinnamon bread! Trying it again tomorrow with just raisin bread... we'll see!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This is a great idea but need perfecting. I couldn't eat it because the syrup hardened like a rock almost instantly (I am still trying to get it off my casserole dish)and the bread was a little too soggy for my liking. But if using a different syrup and adding a little more flavor to the eggs like some cinnamon it could be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Made this for a potluck at work and go rave reviews. So easy to throw together. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Delicious! I used maple syrup instead of corn syrup. I used french bread that I left out over night to get a little crispy. I also did what others suggested and soaked the bread for about an hour and a half instead of over night. The finished product was nice and crispy on the top and chewy and sweet on the bottom. I will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States