Overnight French Toast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
soggy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I've made this recipe for years, and I have never had a complaint. It is delicioious. I also recommend it, as everyone can eat at the same time. You can also be creative and add fruit to the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Too sweet and soggy and seems more of a sweet bread pudding. I still prefer mixing milk, egg, cinnamon and nutmeg together to soak thick slices of bread overnight. Fry like you would a basic French Toast. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Awesome! Easy and delicious! I used a little over 1 cup of coconut milk and 4 eggs. Wasn't a bit soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Very easy to make. I used 1/2C Whole milk and 1C evaporated, instead of all plain milk, and it turned out great. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Glenshaw, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Wonderful! Everyone loved it and it was so simple. I used stale homemade wheat bread cut 1 inch thick. Added 2 extra eggs (personal preference) and 1 tsp cinnamon to the egg mix. I layered the sugar and egg mixes and soaked overnight. Baked up wonderfully with a crunchy sweet topping and was not soggy in the least. I think the stale thick bread is the key. (It's what a chef friend of mine uses to make his bread pudding) A very versatile recipe that can accommodate any leftover breads. Raisins, nuts or possibly even berries could be added for a change up. This will definitely be my go-to recipe for my leftover breads. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
The caramel almost burned after the recommended 45 minutes. It became so hard that it was almost impossible to break with a fork. The bread didn't set enough so the middle was mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This french toast is sooo good. Its like heaven in my mouth. Because it is not so healthy we only have it once and a while
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Made this this morning. I used brown sugar cinnamon bread added vanilla and cut the milk by 1/2 cup. I let it sit long enough to soak the bread entirely. It turned out fine (not soggy)but was just too sweet(possibly b/c of the bread?) and it wasn't anything special. It wasn't bad, but I'll look for something else to make the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JodyVTPT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
This is the best recipe for overnight French toast I've ever tried. My kids are on a swim team and we host a meet twice a year. The people running hospitality just volunteer me to bring this without even asking. I even did it once with the layer of caramel on the bottom, a layer of cinnamon raisin country bread, another layer of caramel, and the final layer of regular baguette. It was amazing! Look no further for a breakfast that will impress. Jane
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States