Overnight French Toast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Too much egg. I really didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Substitute pure maple syrup (which has vitamins and minerals) for the corn syrup (which doesn't) and it tastes even better. Thanks for the tip about inverting the pan early on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Made this and my family LOVED it. It's not soggy if you serve it caramelized side up. Drizzled a little real maple syrup on each piece before eating. It really brought out the flavors. Susan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
My family really enjoyed this! I used cinnamon raisin bread. I also added cinnamon and used maple syrup instead of corn syrup. It helped to flip the dish into another pan once it was cooked so the syrup didn't stick tot he bottom. Really yummy and will make again! Thank you for all the previous suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
soggy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I've made this recipe for years, and I have never had a complaint. It is delicioious. I also recommend it, as everyone can eat at the same time. You can also be creative and add fruit to the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Too sweet and soggy and seems more of a sweet bread pudding. I still prefer mixing milk, egg, cinnamon and nutmeg together to soak thick slices of bread overnight. Fry like you would a basic French Toast. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Awesome! Easy and delicious! I used a little over 1 cup of coconut milk and 4 eggs. Wasn't a bit soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Very easy to make. I used 1/2C Whole milk and 1C evaporated, instead of all plain milk, and it turned out great. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Glenshaw, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Wonderful! Everyone loved it and it was so simple. I used stale homemade wheat bread cut 1 inch thick. Added 2 extra eggs (personal preference) and 1 tsp cinnamon to the egg mix. I layered the sugar and egg mixes and soaked overnight. Baked up wonderfully with a crunchy sweet topping and was not soggy in the least. I think the stale thick bread is the key. (It's what a chef friend of mine uses to make his bread pudding) A very versatile recipe that can accommodate any leftover breads. Raisins, nuts or possibly even berries could be added for a change up. This will definitely be my go-to recipe for my leftover breads. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States