Overnight French Toast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
This was excellent, I sprinkled cinnamon on top. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I added a special syrup topping on the side. It was a container of cream cheese blend together with enough maple syrup to make it the consistency of syrup! It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This was really good but I am not sure I would call it French Toast. It was more of a gooey, sweet pastry. I took this to work and there was not a crumb left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I thought this turned out pretty good. I only had sour dough bread tho so that might have cut down on the sweetness. I left in a warm oven so it didn't get hard on me. Was great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Stephenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This recipe was good. I didn't want it soggy, and my family would never wait for breakfast for as long as it took to preheat and cook it, so I made it for lunch, got it ready in the morning. Its true, I love sweet things and usually am not bothered, but this is way too sweet. I could not finish mine. Also, even though mine only soaked for less than 2 hours, it was still very very soggy on the bottom. I don't know how to correct that problem. This is a fine recipe though if you cut back on the sugar. I wonder if it would work to soak it, then flip the bread over before baking? I might try that next time. I love this type of food, just can't get the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I did a dry run and my taste testers suggested putting the candy in the middle instead of on the bottom. Very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JStoddard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I make a lot of versions of this, so I am pretty hip to the fact that these get soggy. That said, REDUCE THE MILK! Eyeballing the milk I put in, I'd say it was about 1/2 cup. Cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup too. Added in Almond extract, vanilla extract, Penzey's Cake Spice and then a ton of cinnamon. Perfect for those rushed holiday mornings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Very good but took longer to cook than stated. was still a little mushy in center after 55 min. didnt want it to burn. will try next time just setting up 1-2 hours as opposed to overnight. I added cinnamon as well per others suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 143sidney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This recipe was delish!!! The only thing different I did was, turn the bread before baking, this ensured that both sides were crispy. Mine did not gte hard even after cooling. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
It was very good and easy which is always a great thing! I added a little cinnamon to the egg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States