Overnight French Toast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I found this recipe after I couldn't find my mother's recipe for Skiiers French Toast....I love this recipe! There were many complaints about this recipe, but I didn't have any problems. Here are some things I did do that weren't clear in the directions....I used the whole loaf of bread making a double layer. I doubled the syrup recipe, pouring most of it on the bottom and a little in between layers, but not using all of it just in case it would be too sweet. I did not time the baking, I just kept checking on it while the kids opened their Christmas presents, but I really don't think it took too much time....maybe a little over the recommended 45 minutes. I just watched it till the top started to brown. It was not mushy, or too sweet...I really think it was just right. I did use a Pampered Chef stoneware baking dish, maybe that's why I didn't have any problems with the syrup getting hard after it cooled. I hate to say it, but I like this recipe better than my mom's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This was wonderful. I added more egg mixture to it to 'fill' my pan more so. You have to eat right away otherwise it gets stuck to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Horn Nelson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Powdersville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This is one of my husband's favorites!! He's not a big fan of sweets but asks for this often. I just finished putting it together for Christmas morning tomorrow(at his request). I use day old french bread from Jimmy Johns. I also use regular ol' pancake syrup instead of corn syrup since I always have that in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Olivehurst, California, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This was really good and the family loved it. I only deviated from the recipe because I had to; i.e. used half n half (out of milk) and 2T. maple syrup (out of corn syrup). Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marcijsmiles
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
ok, so i had to write a review because this turned out amazingly yummy! i realized i had no corn syrup on hand and decided to use honey instead. i also used regular sandwich bread which is what i had, and added ceylon cinnamon as well. finally i sprinkled cinnamon sugar all over the top before baking and dotted the top with butter. i did bake for 60 min which was perfect. all i have to say is wow, wow, wow! i will definitely be making this again. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcijsmiles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Campo, Texas, USA
Living In: Kemah, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I've made this a few times. A couple with french bread and a couple w/ a loaf of cinnamon bread. Personally, I liked it better w/ french, but hubby likes it w/ the cinnamon. It's a great recipe. Making again this weekend for family coming in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I make this all the time! Everyone LOVES it! The only thing I do differently is use maple syrup instead of corn syrup. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Fantastic recipe. Everyone we have ever served it to loves it. Suggestions: bake it a little longer - maybe 60 minutes, which reduces the sogginess some other reviewers mentioned; make it with cinnamon raisin bread for over-the-top decadence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This was really good and easy to prepare. For the most part, I followed the recipe except that I used a different kind of bread and sprinkled cinnamon all over the top. My husband thought it tasted like a cinnamon roll. Some of the bread was a bit soggy but I didn't mind. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This was fun to throw together the night before and just pop in the oven in the morning. I thought it was pretty good, wasn't thrilled with the flavor - thought it needed maple syrup instead of corn syrup and definitely cinnamon too. I followed the recipe exactly for the first time making it though. My husband and son both loved it though - my hubby had never had overnight French toast and I think he was very pleasantly surprised! The crisp edges are a nice contrast to the moist and tender center pieces. I also suggest cutting your bread into less pieces - maybe more like 10 total pieces. I cut mine smaller and had a hard time fitting them all in the 9x13 pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States