Overnight French Toast I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I have made this several times. I don't use any cream cheese and I use 2 cups of frozen blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Tried it out with strawberries using old fashion bread , the family loved it. I Cut out 2 eggs and only used one can of evaporated milk. I topped it off with cool whip ...yummy delicious. Its similar to Mexican bread pudding just give it enough time in the oven without the foil so it gets nice and brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABANA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
2nd note..I used frozen blueberries as fresh not available. If you do that compensate for their moistness by really reducing the liquid or adding some flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
We made this and the Charleston Breakfast Casserole for New Years Eve brunch. They were so good, we made them again for New Years day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mailforcarolyn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
mine was soupy. I used frozed berries. maybe it was because of that. i only used 8 eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I had this yesterday at my Bible Studay and was so hoping I could find the recipe online! Was so excited to see it here. This is exactly what the lady was descriving was in hers. A lot of people seem to think it tasted bland. I can agree that it would be...but the lady who brought it also had a blueberry sauce to pour over the top. That was soooo delicious and I bet that would add the sweetness/flavor that a lot of you think is missing. The lady also said she only used 1 brick of cream cheese. I can't wait to make this for my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
My variation is to cut back on the egg (10),whip the cream cheese and instead of Blueberries I use banana. This is the dish we use for my monthly family brunch. There is not a sole that doesn't like this dish, even my pickiest eater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I will use one package of cream cheese next time and cut it into smaller pieces but otherwise DELICIOUS! Everyone in my family loved it (from ages 8 to 70) and it was easy to put to together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Before my changes a 3 star. After, a 5! Wow, you have to try this. I made it for Christmas morning and everyone loved it. I changed the following: I used day old sliced french baguette bread, I added 1/4 cup of sugar to the egg mix. I used 7 instead od 12 eggs. I also creamed the cream cheese, not leaving it as cubes. Try it, you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I made a version of this for Christmas morning and everyone loved it! Ages 2 - 62. I am making this again for tomorrow morning, and I am making a few alterations.... If you are making a 8 or 10 serving batch, I would cut the eggs to 10. The first time I made this, I noticed that it was a little soupy when I took it out of the frig, so I drained about 2 eggs worth (it still came out wonderful!). The first time, I used blueberries. After I sprinkled the cream cheese and blueberries over the first layer, I sprinkled sugar over everything. This time I am using frozen strawberries (which have sugar added), so I didn't add sugar. I added about 2 tablespoons of cinnamon and 2 tablespoons of vanilla to the egg and milk wash before I poured it. Keep maple syrup handy for those pancake lovers or there is a recipe for blueberry syrup on one of the other french toast recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmbrennan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States