Overnight Eggnog French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This was the best over night french toast brunch dish I have made. Made it for a company Christmas brunch and it was requested by many. I made it exactly as the recipe states, except I baked it 40 minutes at 325 degrees, increased the temp to 375 degrees and left it in for about 10-12 minutes longer. I made sure the oven temperature reached 375 before I started to time it with the foil off. Perfect! I sprinkled with powder sugar, but served with maple syrup for those that wanted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I made this last year for our Christmas breakfast, and Wow! was it ever a hit! My son wants it every Christmas morning...a new tradition for our family. And he said to feel free to fix it at other times too! I used Texas Toast instead of French bread. I reheated the leftovers in aluminum foil in the oven.....still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
LOVE this recipe! Would give this 10 stars if I could. Huge hit with the kids. I loved the flavor and the ease of the recipe. I did not have any issues with the bread being soggy. Would not change a thing and I have already made it 3 times. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Fantastic .. the whole gang loved it!!!!! I used half cinnamon swirl bread and half italian .. definate keeper ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zagreb, Zagreb, Croatia
Living In: North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This is a very, VERY good recipe, but I did make some changes. Due to being gluten-free (no flour), I used 2 loaves of "Three Baker's" gluten-free bread. I know it seems a lot of bread, but the loaves/slices of bread are fairley small, and I wanted to fill the glass pan. This recipe makes a GREAT Christmas Day brekfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
HUGE hit! Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I made this recipe for New Year's Day breakfast and everyone loved it! I did make a few changes. I used 8 slices of Texas toast instead of the french bread (as another reviewer had suggested) and I sprinkled cinnamon over the bread before pouring the egg and eggnog mixture on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I liked the carmelization of the sugar on the bottom but overall this was too sweet. We put unsweetened applesauce on top which helped cut the sweetness a lot. I used 6 dinner-sized challah rolls split in half for the bread which worked out nicely. I'm glad I tried this but unlikely I'd make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I thought the taste was right on.. good eggnog flavour. A whole loaf of bread was too much bread and the mixture didn't soak through it all. I would toss the bread strips in the mixture in a big bowl and then dump it all in the pan. The butter/sugar mixture was delicious but would have liked more of it. A good recipe and especially good for a quick easy breakfast but I don't think I'll make this again. My family liked it though so 4 stars for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Was looking for a "sure-hit" recipe for christmas brunch and was initially worried that this only had 8 reviews but SO glad that I took the risk-easy and delish ! I will make this every Christmas! Husband who hates mushy french toast LOVED it and everyone wanted recipe! No syrup needed but a squirt of Reddi Whip and a sprinkle of fresh blueberries or strawberries makes this HEAVENLY! I prepared as written with a few minor adjustments: a did prepare night before & sprinkled a little cinnamon on top, I also turned to broil for last 2 minutes of cooking to get a good brown on it and I lightly sprinkled with powered sugar after I took it out to make it look pretty! A must do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

French Toast I

You can use virtually any kind of bread to make this easy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States