Overnight Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Have made this many times and it always turns out great. The whole family loves it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This is a family favorite! i substituted the flour for gluten free flour and its still a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar City, Utah, USA
Living In: Wildomar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This was delicious! I replaced the nutmeg with cinnamon & left out the nuts & did everything else as listed. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
What a great coffee cake recipe! It was easy to put together, the cake was very moist & the crumb topping was crunchy & sooo good! I added 1 teaspoon vanilla extract to the cake batter and about 4 Tablespoons of cold butter to the crumb topping. Assembled the cake and left it in the fridge overnight. Baked the next morning & it was absolutely amazing! This is my new favorite recipe, thanks Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANAIAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westlake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wellington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
This is incredible! I get compliments every time, but here is what I do different: I add a touch of milk to the recipe and I do a crumb topping that includes butter for the top... I also have baked in within a couple of hours instead of letting it sit overnight and it still turns out moist and delicious! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
This was fantastic, way better than I expected. I made it exactly as the recipe was written, except that I used freshly ground nutmeg so I'm not entirely sure exactly how much of that I ended up with. I was very leery of the topping - brown sugar, nuts and cinnamon, really? I usually do a streusel topping. DON'T change it, give it a try, it's really way better than you'd expect. I'm not sure what the whole overnight refrigeration thing did for it, but it made Sunday morning breakfast a little easier. Great recipe, thanks very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I guess I'll give this one of my rare five-star ratings. I'm not particularly fond of coffee cake - I rarely have it, but I'll eat it. I made this exactly as written, except that I had to lengthen the baking time to 45 minutes because the "toothpick test" failed as 35 and 40 minutes. I don't know what the standard is for coffee cake, but this tasted great. Better yet, I ate the whole thing myself, and leftovers, reheated in the microwave briefly, were almost as good as fresh, a week later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Perfect exactly as written. I had to use 2T of cinnamon instead of nutmeg, and more cinnamon in the topping. It was a wonderfully, fast breakfast treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Okay, don't go CRAZY trying to make this more moist because some people thought it was too dry. I added a 1/4 extra "sour cream" (I always use plain greek yogurt for sour cream, fine for baking), and about 1/4 apple sauce. I also substituted 1 and 1/2 cup powdered sugar for regular sugar because I just didn't have sugar. Here's what happened: the weight of the applesauce dragged the dough down and the texture is off - it's dark and dense (but cooked) and didn't rise as well. It TASTES good, though I would recommend adding some vanilla to the batter. ABOUT THE DOUGH: the dough for me was getting quite stringy and sticky when mixing, like bread dough. I think it's supposed to be like that, but it panicked me. Don't panic! All in all - decent flavor (adding a banana or vanilla would improve it!), gorgeous rise to the cake, and the topping is okay. May have been helped with a more traditional strudel! Have some milk nearby, it's decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Delicious and easy. I followed the recipe with the following exceptions: 1. Subbed 2 cups flour for 1 cup whole wheat and 1 cup unbleached white 2. Did about 2/3 tsp nutmeg and 1/3 tsp of cinnamon in the cake Love this recipe. Easy and everyone at my work loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States