Overnight Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
Perfect, perfect, perfect. I love to bake, and have tried many different coffee cake recipes. This is the best one, by far. After I made it, my boyfriend loved it so much that he invited his friends over to have some. They finished it, and came the next day 'demanding' for more! It is incredibly moist, absolutely amazing flavor and texture, and very easy to make. I prepared mine in a Bundt pan and covered the top with almost all of the cinnamon brown sugar topping. Then, I took it out as soon as a toothpick inserted came out clean. After it baked and cooled for a bit, I flipped it out brown sugar topping DOWN onto a serving platter, and drizzled the now bare "top" with the icing and sprinkled it with the remainder of the cinnamon brown sugar topping. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
I Really like this recipe. I made it for a board meeting brunch and it got rave reviews! The only thing that I changed was the topping. I made a struesal topping using... 1/2 cup Brown sugar, packed 1/3 cup All-purpose flour 1 tsp Cinnamon 1/4 cup Butter 1/2 cup Pecans, chopped/roasted What made me love this recipe was the fact that I could put it together the night before but still have that freshly baked cake that looks like you have been up all morning making it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ducky

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Christiansted, Saint Croix, U. S. Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
AMAZINGLY DEFIANT CAKE THAT REFUSES TO SUBMIT! Even though I managed to completely mangle the topping, which then became a hardened shell that made the cooking time take an additional 30 minutes and likely steamed some of the cake, the finished product was still a moist cake and flavorful cake. The Topping, well, that was cracked off and trashed leaving me with a topless cake, but a moist and sweet cake all the same. Worthy of 5 stars wholly, because despite operator error, it still managed to produce a moist and delicious product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I didn't think this was dry - but i did (can't help it!!) make a couple yummy changes - I sliced fresh pears onto the top before adding my own streusel made up of butter crumbled with brown sugar, oats, a bit of flour, cinnamon, crushed pecans or walnuts, and nutmeg. I also use half whole wheat flour in place of one cup of the white flour - adds depth and a bit more nutritional value... yummy, yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamacherie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA
Living In: Seminole, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I have gotten called really rude names by the women in my office for bringing this cake in---IT IS DELICIOUS!!!! It is also gone, as we speak. It's insanely moist (I did put a little extra sour cream).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
We've used this recipe for years, always with great success. I'm particularly fond of this for Christmas morning brunch with a sausage casserole. You make them both the night before. Put them in the oven as you open gifts, and enjoy!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
This is the first coffee cake I have ever made. It turned out great! I brought it to work this morning, and it has gotten rave reviews. I did not refrigerate it over night. I don't know if that makes a difference...it was still excellent. I followed the recipe exactly, topping and all(except the overnight refrigeration part).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Utica, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I assembled this coffee cake last night with several minor changes. I substituted cinammon for nutmeg. I used low fat sour cream. Vanilla adds so much flavor to baked goods that I add it to everything I bake whether it calls for it or not. I didn't measure the brown sugar but I'm quite sure I used closer to a half cup and it was plenty. I baked it this morning and it was done in 35 min. It smelled wonderful. I took it to a class and the ladies really seemed to enjoy it. I omitted the confectioners sugar at the end to save calories and it didn't need it. The topping has a wonderful crunch and that's really what makes the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
This recipe was an OK cinnamon coffee cake but nothing outstanding. I did add one very ripe banana to the cake part (to get rid of it) and liked the addition. I also added about 4 Tbsp of butter and 1/2 a cup of oats to the topping and liked that as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I made this for the guys I work with on Sunday morning. I went out to work my shift and came back to get a piece and it was all gone! They absolutely loved it. It was fresh out of the oven when I brought it to them. I did use Ducky's topping instead. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thenewmarthastewart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States