Overnight Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Thanks to this great recipe my first time making coffee cake was a great success. I made these for a play date at my house and the mom’s loved them. I did make a few changes to make them healthier. I substituted the white sugar and brown sugar with the Spenda versions of each. I also did not put in the nuts. They turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This was really good. I made it exactly as directed and it was very moist and had good flavor. It was better after it cooled down. The next time I make it, I will wait longer than the suggested 10 minutes to put the icing topping on as I feel it melted in right away and didn't make a nice topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
We LOVE this coffee cake! It was so nice to assemble it the night before and have a warm, delicious treat for breakfast in the morning. It's so moist & delicious! I used 3/4 cup sour cream and 1/4 cup vanilla yogurt (b/c I ran out of sour cream) and it turned out great. We opted for pecans and thought the topping was FANTASTIC! I ommitted the glaze on purpose and decided that the cake was perfectly sweet enough. The flavor of nutmeg is a little strong when serving right after baking, so may cut back on that next time (1/2 tsp - 3/4 tsp). I like nutmeg, so it did not bother me, but others may find it overwhelming. The next day, it tasted even BETTER and the flavors were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Good recipe. I made it in the morning, and it was fine. Next time I will cut way down on the sugar!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roselyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This was delicious! Although I did not wait overnight to bake, it still turned out very yummy. I also only used 1/2 tsp. of nutmeg, but in reality I could have used 1/4 tsp or no nutmeg at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Loved it! Forget to put on the icing but was still great. The topping was very good, no reason to change it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
The only change I made was I used 1/2 tsp of nutmeg and only a third of the icing which was plenty. I also was a little concerned with some reviews about the topping which was not the consistency I was expecting. There's alot of brown sugar. I patted it down some into the batter. I guess because I did this, the topping around the edges of the cake "disappeared" into the cake. I guess that's why you should listen to the directions! Having said this, it is unbelievably moist and delicious and if you want to be the bell of the office, get up early and pop this in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa j

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Great texture great consistency - great recipe. The only thing I would do differently is alot less nutmeg. The one teaspoon of nutmeg is way, way overpowering. 1/2 teaspoon would be just about right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
WOW this really is an amazing recipe - I took it to a staff meeting today and everyone raved about it, and lots of requests for the recipe. I used light sour cream, freshly grated nutmeg (about 1/2 tsp) and made 1/3 of the icing drizzle (and it was plenty). The 13 x 9 inch pan worked great for me. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe, Cindy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and it was AMAZING! Don't be afraid of the dough it is very sticky and you think you have done something wrong, but you haven't. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brady, Texas, USA
Living In: Jenks, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States