Overnight Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This was OK. Mine turned out dryer than I would have liked. Didn't like the flavor all that much either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura L
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Everyone at work loves it when I bring this in. I reduced the nutmeg to 1/4 tsp, and I add 1 tsp cinnamon to the cake batter. I also add 1/2 tsp vanilla to the icing. Awesome flavors!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura L

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Matthews, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This was wonderful! I used 1 c WW flour and 1 c all purpose and it turned out great. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I work in a busy specialty specialty office. I was trying to reproduce a coffee cake a patient had brought in. I found this one and it was given rave reviews. I was told it was better than the one the patient had brought in. I initially made the 1st one with reduced nutmeg due to reviews however, I couldn't taste it so I made it again with the whole 1t. nutmeg and it wasn't overpowering at all. I had to share this recipe with several people and when I bring another one in this AM I expect it too be devoured as quickly as the last one. Very tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
As others have said, this makes a very moist tasty cake. The topping however was much too sweet for my taste (and I actually used less of the drizzle on frosting than the recipe called for). The sweetness made this taste much more like cinnamon rolls than coffee cake. Very yummy, just too sweet for my taste. I will make this again with much less of the brown sugar topping and use frosting drizzle sparingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattlegrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
One of the best coffee cakes I've had/made. This is my first time making coffee cake and this was so moist it was perfect! I added one cup wheat flour to one cup of all purpose. Was not very bold to change too many ingredients but will porbably do some experimenting the next time. Maybe substitue the eggs with bananas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This coffee cake would have been A LOT better had the nutmeg been reduced or totally left out-it is overpowering! Other than that, the recipe turned out really well, and I made it exactly as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Very good and moist. I didn't have sour cream so I used vanilla yogurt instead. My husband thought the nutmeg was too strong, but I liked it. That's why I gave it 4 out of 5 stars. We didn't make the icing and it was still really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This turned out great! I made it the night before and the only change I made was to use allspice instead of nutmeg. It was super duper tasty. The only thing that didn't turned out like the picture was the icing. Even after 15 minutes of cooling, it just sort of melted into the cake. But it tasted awesome and my mom said it was the best coffee cake she's ever had! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Fantastic! I changed the spices to half nutmeg & half apple pie spice in the cake (just for personal taste). It was great. My husband ate almost half of it! This recipe will definitely be part of my brunch rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States