Overnight Coconut Pecan Steel Cut Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
Wonderful oatmeal recipe. I use gluten free steel cut oats and i only had almonds so used those instead of pecans.This is a great way to start the day and will be my go to breakfast. Thank you Linda(LMT) for your recipe i did enjoy it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: May 20, 2015
I think I finally found my go-to overnight oats recipe! I've always made overnight oats with regular old-fashioned/rolled oats and wasn't that big of a fan. I love steel cut oats but it never occurred to me to try it in overnight oats. I absolutely LOVE the chewiness of the oats. This doesn't seem like it makes a lot, but it's actually quite filling. The only changes I made were to use unsweetened cashew milk (bc that's what I tend to have on hand nowadays), I used half the pecans and I used flaked coconut (larger pieces) instead of shredded. With these changes, the calorie count was 271. I was so happy to have made this last night bc this morning I woke up late for work and otherwise wouldn't have eaten breakfast. A perfect on-to-go breakfast! I like putting my overnight oats in small canning jars. For those who can't find unsweetened coconut, Bob's Red Mill makes some, so check that section of the store. These oats won't get soft, so if that's what you're looking for, you're better off sticking with a cooked oatmeal recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
I made this according to the recipe submitted, but I think there are probably limitless variations. Very easy. Very good. I prepared five containers of dry ingredients and then prepped one every night with milk. In the morning I added a little more milk, put on the lid, and out the door I went.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
I eat oatmeal everyday for breakfast and have done this since 2002. I really love oatmeal! So I decided to try this recipe. First of all- it's very good and I really liked it! But I can relate to some reviewers who thought it tasted somewhat raw. Personally I really liked the texture and the nuttier taste. I didn't use pecans or coconut however. I also heated it in the microwave for 2 minutes before I ate it. I can't imagine eating cold oatmeal!I will definitely make this again and try adding walnuts. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whachagotcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
This is delicious! I followed the recipe exactly but it would be easy to substitute other ingredients to mix in if you prefer. My two year old even gobbled it up, which really surprised me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
This recipe grew on me and I have made it three times now. First time I thought raw oatmeal this is just too weird to eat. Then, I ended up sprinkling on a little more brown sugar and eating it all. I accidentally bought steel cut quick oats instead of regular quick oats. I came upon this recipe looking to use them up. Only change is using a quick type of steel cut oat and adding 2 teaspoons of generously packed brown sugar to the oats. Still has to be healthier than the alternative breakfasts I have eaten. I like cinnamon, but I have found I like this better without it after adding the extra brown sugar. A review posted here mentioned heating it for a minute before eating. I may try that too. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I. LOVE. THIS! The combo of flavors is perfect, and it could not get easier. Yes, the texture is chewy but I read the reviews before making the recipe and I don't mind it. These steel cut oats are very filling, and hold off my hunger like nothing else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This is a great recipe for those who are rushed in the morning. Other reviewers did not like the texture from the cooked method but personally I liked it! It's soft but still firm, best way to describe it would be whether you like steamed crunchy veggies or mushy veggies. * I used almond milk (personal preference) and my kids did not want coconut or pecans. It was delish!So many possibilities with the basic concept of this recipe. I will definitely be experimenting with different variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Love this recipe! Easy and delish! Add what you like (more sugar, less coconut).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Don't make it if you expect it to soften a lot. It's the same chewiness as the raw coconut and pecans. If that wouldn't bother you, go ahead and give it a try! I also recommend adding a few drops of vanilla or almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tip for Utokia's Pecan Coconut Crusted Fish

See how to make quick, mess-free pecan and coconut-crusted cod fillets.

No-Cook Overnight Oatmeal

Watch how to make super easy overnight oats!

Overnight Chai Oatmeal

You must try this overnight oatmeal flavored just like chai tea!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States