Overnight Coconut Pecan Steel Cut Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
I made this according to the recipe submitted, but I think there are probably limitless variations. Very easy. Very good. I prepared five containers of dry ingredients and then prepped one every night with milk. In the morning I added a little more milk, put on the lid, and out the door I went.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
I eat oatmeal everyday for breakfast and have done this since 2002. I really love oatmeal! So I decided to try this recipe. First of all- it's very good and I really liked it! But I can relate to some reviewers who thought it tasted somewhat raw. Personally I really liked the texture and the nuttier taste. I didn't use pecans or coconut however. I also heated it in the microwave for 2 minutes before I ate it. I can't imagine eating cold oatmeal!I will definitely make this again and try adding walnuts. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whachagotcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
This is delicious! I followed the recipe exactly but it would be easy to substitute other ingredients to mix in if you prefer. My two year old even gobbled it up, which really surprised me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
This recipe grew on me and I have made it three times now. First time I thought raw oatmeal this is just too weird to eat. Then, I ended up sprinkling on a little more brown sugar and eating it all. I accidentally bought steel cut quick oats instead of regular quick oats. I came upon this recipe looking to use them up. Only change is using a quick type of steel cut oat and adding 2 teaspoons of generously packed brown sugar to the oats. Still has to be healthier than the alternative breakfasts I have eaten. I like cinnamon, but I have found I like this better without it after adding the extra brown sugar. A review posted here mentioned heating it for a minute before eating. I may try that too. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I. LOVE. THIS! The combo of flavors is perfect, and it could not get easier. Yes, the texture is chewy but I read the reviews before making the recipe and I don't mind it. These steel cut oats are very filling, and hold off my hunger like nothing else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This is a great recipe for those who are rushed in the morning. Other reviewers did not like the texture from the cooked method but personally I liked it! It's soft but still firm, best way to describe it would be whether you like steamed crunchy veggies or mushy veggies. * I used almond milk (personal preference) and my kids did not want coconut or pecans. It was delish!So many possibilities with the basic concept of this recipe. I will definitely be experimenting with different variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Love this recipe! Easy and delish! Add what you like (more sugar, less coconut).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Don't make it if you expect it to soften a lot. It's the same chewiness as the raw coconut and pecans. If that wouldn't bother you, go ahead and give it a try! I also recommend adding a few drops of vanilla or almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Very good! I used sweetened coconut flakes since Walmart did not have unsweetened one...and I used crushed walnut instead of pecans. I loved the taste. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Love this, found making it two days ahead and heating before serving makes it a hit. Took it to my monthly breakfast club and everyone raved
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Tip for Utokia's Pecan Coconut Crusted Fish

See how to make quick, mess-free pecan and coconut-crusted cod fillets.

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States