Overnight Cinnamon Rolls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I used my KitchenAid mixer to make the dough for these rolls. I proofed the yeast in my mixer bowl for ten minutes with the sugar and milk (I used buttermilk), until the yeast "bloomed". I then added the melted butter, eggs and all the dry ingredients. I did need a little more flour than what was called for to get the dough to jump on the hook, but not much. I kneaded the dough with my dough hook for five minutes or so, then set it to rise in a greased, covered bowl on my warm heating pad until it doubled. I rolled it out and set to spreading the "innards" on the dough. I did use 1/2 cup of softened butter, I doubled the cinnamon and I added nutmeg to the filling ingredients. I mixed it together all in one bowl and spread it over the dough. I cut my pieces and set them in my largest cake pan, covered it with foil and let it sit overnight in the fridge. Once I got up in the morning, I let it sit on the counter just to take the chill off, then set it on the warm heating pad to rise for the second time. Once it doubled, I baked it at 400* for about 15 minutes. I used a different icing recipe (one that uses cream cheese) for the tops of these. This roll recipe was good, but I think my adjustments made it better. It really did need the extra spices and butter in the filling. This one didn't rise as much as others I've used, so if I make this again, I'll double the amount of yeast called for in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ashort84
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Not as easy to make as the title suggests, this being my first time to make cinnamon rolls from scratch, it took me some time to read through the recipe to make sure I had it right. Almost missed the adding of only 3 !!! cups instead of 4.5 of flour. I didn't have a mixer, so I made these entirely be hand, with some elbow grease to kneed them for the entire 8 minutes. I added extra cinnamon to the filling, and plenty of pecans and almonds instead of raisins. I recommend binding the bread more tightly, I had loose rolls that I had to tighten 2/3s through the cutting process -- hint hint, use floss to cut the rolls. These made 2 pie dishes worth of rolls, and they both went into my refrigerator with a lot of my other holiday food. Morning arrived, and I happily pulled breakfast out of the fridge. While baking, I used the cinnamon rolls II Cream cheese icing because the reviews gave it such a poor rating. They were yummy! Make for a crowd! And enjoy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Overall, this one of the better doughs for cinnamon rolls I've seen. I made a few modifications to the fillings due to personal taste and my own experimenting in the kitchen. I also did not make the glaze but instead turned these into caramel rolls; it worked out very well. The whole family loved them! I would have liked to see these rise higher, though (thus the 4/5 instead of the 5/5).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Awesome recipe!! My family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
First time I've made cinnamon rolls. My dough didn't rise properly, it didn't double in size. I still rolled it out and put in the fridge overnight. I had nothing to lose. Much to my surprise when I took them out the next morning before I put them in oven they started to rise. Excellent recipe! Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
These were good but tasted too yeasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Delicious cinnamon rolls! This was my first time making my own cinnamon rolls from scratch, and I was interested in this recipe because you could make the dough the day before and let it rise overnight. I followed the dough recipe exactly as written, other than the raisins (substituted sliced almonds) and the rolls were delicious! Slightly crispy outside, soft and delicate inside. The only reason I didn't give this recipe 5 stars is because the glaze is somewhat lacking in flavor, so I made a cream cheese frosting instead, which made these cinnamon rolls a 5-star recipe with that added to them. Made our Christmas morning extra special, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelkel4now

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This was so easy and so, so good. Way better than Cinnabon. I did tweak it a bit, I doubled the filling and added some nutmeg. Also, when I rolled it out, I smeared the top of the dough with softened butter before adding the filling. I discovered I didn't have 10x sugar so I used a can of cream cheese icing and it was phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I made these last night to have on Christmas morning and they were terrific! I made them so late at night/early in the morning that I left them out instead of putting them in the fridge. (It was only 4 hours until I was going to cook them.) They came out just fine. The only things I'll do differently are putting a little butter insdie with the filling to make them super moist and I'll keep a closer eye on them. My oven is old and can be a little off sometimes so cooking them for the full time made them browner than I'd like. I like super gooey cinnamon rolls though! Everyone loved them and I've now found an easy way to add a new Christmas tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristy
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
LOVE this recipe. I took the advice of a couple of other reviewers and used string to cut off the rolls. Will definitely use that trick in the future. I also soaked the raising overnight in rum which adds a little extra. Next time I make this, I will also double the filling. Overall, a fantastic recipe and was a special treat for a cold Christmas morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States