Overnight Cinnamon Rolls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
My family and I Didn't Like these. The Cinnamon Roll it Self Was Too much Like a Biscuit, and Just was not appetizing to us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Tedore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I really loved these cinnamon rolls, but I'm rating it 3 stars because I had to do some tweaking. I ended up using around 6.5 cups of flour to actually make the dough. 4.5 cups made a soupy mess. The finished product was a perfect texture and consistency. The color (because of the eggs) is beautiful! I also used a cream cheese frosting instead of a glaze. Doing this made them taste like Cinnabon. I bake bread for a living, so I'm not just blowing smoke here. :) Oh, and I've made these 4 times now and never gotten fewer than 16 rolls out of them. My kids want me to make them every night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki Clingan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Like many others, I had trouble getting these to rise. I proofed the yeast 10 minutes in the milk mixture, but it didn't 'bloom' very well, and I threw it out and started over, but had the same issue. I've never had a problem proofing yeast, and I figured maybe it just looked different in milk as I've only proofed it in water before. I went ahead and continued the recipe, and had to add over a 1/2 cup of flour in order to work with the dough. It hardly rose in the greased bowl, but I continued on. I brushed the rolled out dough with 1 tbsp of butter total, doubled the brown sugar, added nutmeg to the filling, and took away the raisins. I cut 24 smaller rolls out of the batch - as we don't like giant rolls - and froze them immediately. When I prepared them, I let a few thaw in the fridge overnight, first spraying them with PAM and covering them with plastic wrap. They didn't rise much in the fridge, so I followed another reviewer's advice on this and covered them with a damp cloth and let them sit in my oven at 170F for about 20 minutes. They looked good at that point, so I baked them at 350 and pulled them out after about 10 min as they were more than done. They were about Pillsbury cinnamon roll size when complete. I made a cream cheese frosting which I loved, but my husband said he'd prefer the traditional glaze made from powdered sugar and water. They had nice flavor, but could be moister. I'll follow the tip of putting a small pat of butter on them before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Did not work for my family at all. The dough never rose. I also disliked the taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
very good!! after these rolls have set in the fridge overnight there was a huge amount of sugary luiquid in the bottom of the pan. I found that i had to transfer and turn them upside down to avoid a hard cracking sugary bottom. they still did a little but it was quite pleasant. I need to figure out a way where it doesnt get so liquidy. Any one else have this problem and can i let them rise outside of the fridge so i can bake them sooner?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanjere

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
The ingredients list does not ask for nuts, but the instructions do. I used 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts. I had trouble kneading the sticky dough, but found this method on youtube and will try this next time. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yno_JaLvfOc Even with my challenges (this was my first attempt ever at bread dough making).... they turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
These rolls were amazing! I followed the recipe exactly, only I used a cream cheese frosting in place of the glaze. Like another reviewer suggested, to cut the cinnamon rolls I took a length of thread, placed it under the roll where I wanted to "cut", and tied a knot, making the perfect slice without crushing the dough. (I wound up putting some raisins on top of a few of the rolls before I baked them, which I recommend NOT doing as they kind of turned into little raisin-stones during the baking.) Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShaunaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I've been using the same roll recipe for cinnamon rolls for a long time and they kept turning out okay. I starting looking for a real cinnamon roll recipe, not just a roll recipe turned into cinnamon rolls, and this one turned out great! I even overbaked them slightly (something I HATE to do) and they were still great with a cream cheese frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCANDLAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Fantastic! When I made the dough, I found that I didn't need quite as much as is called for, and left out about 1/4 of a cup or so. I let it chill overnight as indicated, and set it out to room temp for about an hour. After reading several reviews, I set my oven at 350 and let it cook for about 25-30 minutes. I have 4 children, and ALL of them, and I do mean ALL of them, thought that they were the best cinnamon rolls that they EVER tasted! :) I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I have never made cinnamon rolls before so I was a bit nervous. In fact, I left out the butter from the dough by accident! The dough was very sticky and I used about a cup more flour than called for. It was easy to roll out and I added chopped pecans to the filling. I used rapid rise yeast so I did not have to do the first 1-hour rise. I put the rolls in a glass baking dish, covered with saran wrap, adn put in the frig. In the morning, I put the rolls in a cold oven and heated it to 375 degrees. Because of this, it took 50 minutes to cook. The outside rolls browned quicker than the inside ones so I had to cover with aluminum foil after about 20 minutes. I took them to work and everyone raved about them! Next time I may try with a cream cheese frosting instead of the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nativeSDgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States