Overnight Cinnamon Rolls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I made these last night to have on Christmas morning and they were terrific! I made them so late at night/early in the morning that I left them out instead of putting them in the fridge. (It was only 4 hours until I was going to cook them.) They came out just fine. The only things I'll do differently are putting a little butter insdie with the filling to make them super moist and I'll keep a closer eye on them. My oven is old and can be a little off sometimes so cooking them for the full time made them browner than I'd like. I like super gooey cinnamon rolls though! Everyone loved them and I've now found an easy way to add a new Christmas tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristy
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
LOVE this recipe. I took the advice of a couple of other reviewers and used string to cut off the rolls. Will definitely use that trick in the future. I also soaked the raising overnight in rum which adds a little extra. Next time I make this, I will also double the filling. Overall, a fantastic recipe and was a special treat for a cold Christmas morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I decided to use whole wheat flour for this. It was a little heavier because of it. It also doesn't rise overnight as much as I was hoping that it would but it was still a good recipe for overnight rolls. The basic glaze was just so-so. I might try a thicker more flavorful one next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
made these for christmas morning, they came out well and are easy with the steps split up and rising overnight. they didn't rise that much in the fridge but did when sitting out before baking. the 375 degrees was too hot, they browned too much, so will do 350 next time. also, i will put more filling in next time, we like lots of that, and spread the dough with butter before putting on the filling. they were tasty and tender and a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
awesome! my hubby is probably about to go into sugar shock but claims he'll die happy. I made the dough in my bread machine and it was glossy and very easy to work with after the rest. made in two cake pans lined with parchment and froze one pan. my oven must be running hot as they were a bit over browned but double thumbs up. Instead of raisens i used currants and instead of making frosting i used store bought creamcheese frosting to finish the tub. will def make again as they were very easy and delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
so i tried agian used alot of flour on the wax paper i rolled it out on and the sticking still happened so be prepared! but this time i could at least roll them and cut them without becomming a stikcy mess. i added vanilla to the dough and didn't measure the sugar or cinniamon they were a little mild last time so that is a to taste thing. but they will be great first thing christmas morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aura_bryt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gretna, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Grayland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebecca Stall Thorpe
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Perfect for our Christmas morning, these were gooey, sweet, and DELICIOUS. I did spread soft butter (about 1/2 a stick) on the dough before adding the sugar/cinnamon mixture. I also used chopped up pecans. I definitely suggest kneading a little extra flour into the dough but the main thing is make sure you knead for the whole 8 minutes! This will be the recipe we use from now on, especially since i can make it the day before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I don't know what I did wrong but things went terribly wrong someplace. I followed the recipe exactly but the dough never rose and was incredible dense after baking. I'm glad I tried these ahead of time. The plan was to make these for Christmas morning. I'll probably just make a coffee cake instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parishville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Really great recipe, pretty easy to make too! I like to top mine with a cream cheese frosting (specifically the Cream Cheese Frosting II recipe on this site) instead of the glaze because I'm a sucker for cinnamon rolls with cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColdSpider
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Oh...what a blissful way to start the morning! This was my first time making cinnamon rolls, and they are amazing! I followed the recipe almost exactly as written but used a bit more filling than called for. Before baking, I put a small dot of butter on top of each roll. Also, I didn't have any light corn syrup, so I made the glaze by creaming 3 tbsp soft butter with 1.5 cups powdered sugar and a tsp of vanilla. Then beat in about a tbsp of milk a little at a time to get the right consistency. Spread it on warm rolls and then sit back and watch my kids' eyes pop out of their heads. :) I think this will be our Christmas morning breakfast this year! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States