Overnight Cinnamon Rolls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I made this one to spec to be fair and found a number of serious problems: 1. The dough comes out extremely dense for a cinnamon roll - I even cut back by almost a full 1/2 cup and, while the rolls rose in the oven, they were still quite heavy. 2. The filling was terribly dry - I think this could have been influenced by the consistency of the dough, but while the lack of any kind of fat (i.e. butter) in the filling may make these a little healthier there was nothing to allow the cinnamon/brown sugar mix to properly melt and give that gooey consistency you tend to crave in a cinnamon roll! (Besides, who's going for healthy in a cinnamon roll anyways?) 3. The icing needs some major work - this is little more than a basic sugary glaze. Combined with the sand-like brown sugar/cinnamon filling which dissolved into pure sugar in your mouth, this topping was the sugary straw that broke the camels back and simply overpowered the entire recipe. I was interested to try a new recipe, but know now that I'll stick with my original cinnamon roll recipe - "Clone of a Cinnabon" - also from Allrecipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefHouse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Paris, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This is the Way To go!! Loved the easy handeling of the Dough, It was so easy to work with. I am definatly making this recipe again. The rolls were very moist and fluffy and did not have a overly yeast flavor like some do. I did put Melted butter on the dough before I sprinkled the cinnamon sugar mixture on. I also made a more of a buttercream frosting instead. But overall taste of the cinnamon roll was great. highly recommend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I wish I could give this more than 5 stars! These are the most amazing cinnamon rolls I have ever had!!! I get nervous working with yeast because I don't have the best track record...but these turned out great! The key I think is to make sure you leave them in a really warm space to rise! Regular room temperature just isn't enough. The only things I changed with the recipe was to leave out the raisins and I didn't use the suggested glaze (my own preference - I don't like corn syrup). I used the glaze from the "Savory Cinnamon Rolls" recipe on this site. I cut the glaze in half and it was plenty for these rolls. I can't say thank you enough for posting this recipe! It is amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Alstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
My teriffic daughter in law made these for me...absolutely wonderful! Great Job Chelsea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
What a great recipe for an easy breakfast/brunch recipe! I can't stand raisins so I left them out and doubled the rest of the filling ingredients. I love nuts so to half the filling I added some very finely chopped walnuts (pecans would be good too) I then filled half the dough with one filling and half the dough with the other. When slicing the dough use a length of thread or unflavored floss, place under dough bring ends up and cross then pull until tough is sliced, this will prevent a squished cinnamon roll. I did use another icing recipe from this site that looked better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland, California, USA
Living In: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I have been having trouble with yeast recipes, My kids found this recipes and really wanted me to make. I must say it was so easy and I was amazed that the next morning they were fluffy & beautiful, ready to bake. They said they will NEVER eat cinnamon rolls from a can again.... Great recipes, turned out delicious! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I double the filling for this recipe and rather than mix the entire filling together I spread the butter and then sprinkle on the other ingredients. Easier to get an even the covering. Also, I would recommend pulling this out a little longer before baking in the morning for fluffier rolls. My kids love this recipe and since it takes some time to make I usually make it after they go to sleep and surprise them in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
These were very good. Wished I had put some butter inside along with cinnamon and brown sugar before I had baked. Instead I put a little on each top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I Made these and they turned out really good, and rised really good aswell. The only thing is, i didnt add as much salt as it said too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
they are awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States