Overnight Cinnamon Rolls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
These turned out mighty good for such a simple recipe. I say "simple" because I looked at a lot of other online overnight roll recipes, and this one had fewer steps and ingredients than the others. It produces a delightfully soft, rich dough--a joy to work with. However, I had to add a little bit more flour than the recipe calls for because the dough was too soft and sticky; I probably added about 1/2 cup more. And the rolls did did not rise overnight. In the morning they had risen only a little bit, so I put them in a slightly warmed oven and they rose right up. Nevertheless I'll definitely make these again. I strongly recommend that you use dental floss to cut the dough into individual servings. Super easy and yields perfectly cut rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I was surprised these turned out as well as they did - and they turned out very well! Like others said, the dough was goopy seemed like it took FOR-ever for the dough to get to the consistency I needed - my Kitchenaide was actually hot to the touch when I was done. The dough took an hour and 20 minutes to rise, but rolled out very well on some heavily floured Silpat. They were very brown on top at the 20 minute mark so I covered the pan loosely with foil and moved it to the bottom rack. However, the kids and my husband love them. I rarely eat breads for breakfast, so I just had a slice and it was pretty darn tasty. I'm going to try proofing the yeast next time, and will probably add more filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Wouldn't change a thing about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I'm rating the roll part of the recipe only since I think I'd be run out of town if I didn't top these with cream cheese frosting. This is an excellent recipe for cinnamon roll dough. I used my KitchenAid and did have to add a little more flour than called for but it was beautiful dough to work with. Silky smooth and easy to roll out. I let my yeast sit on top of the warm milk/butter mixture for about 5 minutes to come alive before adding the other ingredients. Don't make the mistake of not adding melted butter to the rolled out dough before sprinkling on the sugar and cinnamon. The filling really must have butter to mix with or it will be dry. I used 1/4 cup melted butter and a mixture of brown sugar, white sugar, and cinnamon. You can find cream cheese frosting recipes on many other cinnamon roll recipes on this site. I will definitely use this roll recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I thought the dough was easy to work with. I mixed it in my kitchen aid stand mixer with the dough hook. I also like others add butter to the rolled out dough before I put the sugar cinnamon mixture on. They were a big hit at work this morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Very very good! Thank you for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I made these for the first time today.Followed recipe to the T !They look like $2.50 rolls at the your local Dinner and taste like $10.00 ones. Haaha.Excellent Recipe,Easy Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lsugirl22
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Made these last night to bake on Christmas morning - they were delicious!! Just like from a bakery. I made sure to knead the dough a full ten minutes and rolled the dough tightly into a log before cutting. I used a different icing recipe but I think any icing would be good on these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
The rolls were decent, but I had to do a serious amount of tweaking. I used my Kitchen Aid to mix the dough and I used at least 6.5 (or more) cups of flour. And 375 for 30 min was WAY too long. I wish I would have followed my instincts (and read some reviews 1st) and tried 350. I did 375 for 22 min and they were quite brown on the top. I also used more sugar and cinnamon and added a little butter to the dough before sprinkling the sugar....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I have used this recipe for Christmas breakfast for the past 2 years. This year will be #3. I pop them in the oven while kids go through stockings, by the time they are done so are the rolls and everyone gobbles them up forgetting there are still presents left to open. You can tweak it a bit but the original is still amazingly yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States