Overnight Cinnamon-Raisin Swirl Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
I tried this bread. I am looking for a good bread to use to make homemade french toast. I didn't add the raisins this time. The dough was almost soupy when I went to put it in the fridge. I left it in my mixer bowl because of that. To my surprise, it did rise a little by morning. I had to add 2-1/2 to 3 cups of flour to it to get it to a rolling or patting consistancy. My Kitchen Aid worked great for this! I can't imagine using a hand mixer. I also substituted powdered buttermilk for the liquid buttermilk. As someone else said, it does make a lot of dough so I made two breads out of it. The sugar/cinnamon topping is enough for 2 breads. I let it rise again after it went into the pans for an hour in a warm oven as an experiement to see if it would rise at all again. Well, it rose beautifully! I was afraid all that mixing in of the extra flour would have killed the yeast. I'm glad it didn't. Now to bake it. It baked for 25 minutes and looked nice. I let them cool and I sliced them. They tasted great! They sliced nice, had good consistancy. Good I think for french toast. I was a little disapointed that there didn't seem to be more cinnamon flavor. I may increase the cinnamon another 1-2 tsp. I upped the amount I put in to 1 tbsp. I think it needs more. Also, maybe adding more topping to the dough may help as well. Overall, I'm very pleased with this recipe. It takes a while, but the results are worth it. I WILL make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I subbed 2 cups rice milk with 2 tbs vinegar (let it set at least 5 min.) and it turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
This is the first time I have made a yeast bread which came out so soft! The batter for the first half of the recipe remained pretty soft and could not be rolled into a ball. I just covered it up with some plastic wrap in the bowl and it rose perfectly! I did not measure how much more flour I added into the risen dough but I left my dough pretty soft still. I rolled out the dough on a piece of parchment paper on a baking sheet and proceeded with the recipe using cinnamon sugar instead of plain cinnamon. Unfortunately because I left the dough so soft, it started t spread out on the cookie sheet so I just lifted the parchment paper into a bread pan and let it bake as the recipe stated. I rubbed some butter over the top when it finished baking and it soaked in giving it a nice buttery-cinnamon taste through the whole bread! It keeps well in the fridge when wrapped in plastic wrap. All I do is lightly toast a slice and it is perfect! Great breakfast bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I love this recipe! I added cinnamon to the dough and sprinkled with brown sugar,cinnamon and walnuts instead of white sugar and raisins. Tastesd better than my mom's old fashioned nut roll! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moriarty, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and have to say it tastes very good. The dough, however, was extremely goopy (toooo much liquid in the recipe) so I'll have to tweak it like the other reviewers did until it can be made into a nice loaf. Better yet, this recipe is good enough for cinnamon rolls so I'll have to play with it to get the dough just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StubbyDaze

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This is pretty good bread, but it makes way more than 1 loaf of bread . . .unless you have huge bread pans. I was able to get 6 huge cinnamon rolls and two medium sized loaves out of one batch. I think I'd halve it next time; it just makes way too much! I didn't use the overnight rise method because I had time to make it in its entirety yesterday, so that's what I did. I definitely had to add more flour; I think it was about 2 cups when all was said and done, so the ratio of liquid to dry ingredients is off. However, when making bread it's also dependent on the humidity at the time you make it, so the ratio is not always accurate from day to day. This is a light, mild white bread that works well as a dessert loaf. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
This bread has an awesome tastes and is very soft textured, like that of bread you get in a store. I had to modify if a bit, I only used 2 1/4 tsps of yeast( 1 packet) and used 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup white, also to the dough I add 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and added my raisins. In the morning I rolled this out to make 2 loaves instead of one. I felt this recipe made a lot of dough. I had to bake mine at 400 for about 55 minutes. I will make this again but continue to try to improve it... overall pretty good. I liked using buttermilk. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
I have yet to taste the finished bread, but the dough tastes wonderful! :o) My dough was way too 'soft'- it wasn't even really dough!- so I had to use extra flour. I wanted it somewhat wholesome, so I used 3 1/2 cups unbleached flour and 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour. Then I had to add another 1 1/2 cups for it to actually be kneadable. I only used one package of yeast, and 1/2 cup raisins. I mixed 1/4 cup into the dough and then spread the remaining 1/4 cup on before rolling. I like that this recipe can be prepared the night before and then just pressed out, rolled up, and baked in the morning- fits my lifestyle very well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
After reading through the various comments, I thought this would be a good bread to try to make a cinnamon apple bread (I hate raisins). I decided to make the whole batch, and split it in half with one loaf being "plain" and the other being cinnamon apple. Pros: The flavoring is great for a sweet bread. We actually even used the cinnamon apple bread for french toast one day and it was amazing! I also liked that it rose overnight, which made the overall process easy since I was short on time the day I made the dough. Cons: The recipe as written comes out more liquid than dough. I increased my flour and my cooktime, but I still didn't get it quite right for the first loaf. Definitely 45-60 mins!! Also, I wouldn't make it plain. It was way too sweet to eat without something in it to kick it up a notch. Overall, I'll make this again when I want a special sweet bread just because it rises overnight which makes the overall process pretty easy when you are short on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Annandale, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
The bread is great. Caveat: The recipe makes too much for one loaf. Impossible to get it to bake all the way through. Divided the dough into two loafs, and they came out a good size -- still quite large. Baked for about 60 mins -- 35 is nowhere near enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States