Overnight Chinese Daikon Radish Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I used half rice vinegar and half apple cider vinegar. These were much better after 2 days in the fridge. Great to snack on but also really good in a regular green salad. Oh, and I don't know about anyone else, but I always peel daikons. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
Very mildly pickled, but good taste and texture. Aside from chopping the daikon, there's very little work involved. I ate this with cucumber and avocado on flavored seaweed - a fabulous texture and taste combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I made with cider vinegar because I didn't have any rice vinegar handy. They came out a bit more bitter than I would have expected, but I still loved them! I will make these again! They were great and easy for a bagged lunch! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
These were very good and very easy! I imagine you could use other crisp veggies (including cucumber) if daikon radishes are not available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
Daikon Radishes are LARGE. I wasn't sure what to do with my left overs so this recipe was GREAT! I will buy my next Daikon with this recipe in mind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDY GIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Maybe my plastic containers don't form perfect seals, but my house smelled of pickling juices for several days while these sat in the fridge. Consider yourself warned. The daikon pickles are decent, though certainly not the same style as you'd get at one of the few Chinese restaurants that have them. As for how I made them, I peeled the daikon (the recipe skipped this step) then chopped it. Because the recipe didn't say, I chopped it into 3/4 inch cubes. It took about half a large daikon to make 1 1/2 cups of chopped daikon. And, indeed, in step one they did release two tablespoons of water. In step two, I skipped the optional sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
nice 'n easy, but a bit bland, helped by using a bit of soy sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I love daikon and this made great pickles. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I had some daikon leftover from making ramen and I'm so glad I found this recipe! I love pickles :> The sesame oil adds a really nice flavor and you only need a few drops. Some of my daikon were sliced, some were chopped. I found that its easier to work when its chopped or julienned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
Turned out fabulous and I loved the color. They were great to snack on while making Chinese dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States