Overnight Caramel Pecan Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Got up Christmas morning and whipped these out in an hour! I realized I had neglected by buy rolls or donuts, per our Christmas tradition, and we had about $15 worth of pecans in the kitchen cabinets, so I looked up the best recipe on AllRecipes - my go-to-place for perfect meals. My husband expressed confusion when he read the part about 12-hour refrigeration. I simply skipped that part and used a pan of water in the stove at 200 degrees to make these rise within 15-20 minutes. They were perfect! However, I don't see how they make two 9x13 inch pans - I poured the pecan mixture in two pans but combined them into one as it didn't appear to be enough by far. The rolls did fit in one 9x13 pan too - they were huge and high but that is how we like them! We may have taken a few bites of the dough as we were prepping them, too. LOVED these rolls and I will make them again soon (we still have a bag full of pecans). #yum! #nomnom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AllOurEggs.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I made these for a breakfast party for work. I liked the idea of being able to prepare them on the day prior to baking. Something went horribly wrong and I'm not really sure why. They fell apart when I dumped them out of the pan and when they cooled off the caramel was petrified. Based on the reviews I even made half again as much caramel sauce hoping for some extra gooeyness. Very disappointing. I have made this recipe many times and they always turn out amazing: http://www.food.com/recipe/iowa-state-fair-sweet-dough-caramel-cinnamon-rolls-435816
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I agree with the other reviewers that the caramel coating and sugar/cinnamon/butter for the middle needs to be increased for the ultimate roll, but it was still good and rose beautifully before baking. With those revisions, this would definitely be a five star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I made these with just a few changes. My family doesn't like pecans so I with held them and added orange zest to the filling. I got rave reviews from my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
The recipe was so very simple to execute and the taste is fabulous, It reminded me of an old German recipe from my family back home it called Schneckenudel we just add Filbert nut or raisins to thec center of the rolled out dough and either glaze it or just sprinkle powder sugar on it before placing it on the table for our famous coffee hour.."Kaffeeklatsch" like we say it back home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Recipe looks delicious except the filling is not near enough for my family's liking. My grandmother made homemade cinnamon rolls every Christmas morning. She covered her dough with (probably for this size dough at least 1/3 to 1/2 cup) slightly melted butter, sprinkled heavily with cinnamon and crumble a layer of plenty of light brown sugar to soak up the butter. When she rolled it up some of the goo would ooooz out the ends. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I only did half of the recipe, but it turned out so good. I added more butter, cinnamon, and sugar in the centers. I plan to keep making this. I'm doubling the caramel topping, and the center ingredients next time. I live in the country so if I want something fresh. I have to make it. Very easy recipe and fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
This is for "Sometime Cook". More caramel is great, but be sure to add at least 1 tablespoon of flour to your sugar mixture. This will help make it thicker, and also it won't get hard. Your are not going to eat all of these rolls while they are warm, so the caramel is going to get very sticky or hard. The flour really helps to keep this from happening, and I love these things cold too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Made them a couple of times and they were a hit. I made them in one day, when I had time and froze, so we could enjoy them for breakfast on our Silver Wedding & a special birthday! (Took them out of freezer night before & heated them for 10 min at 170C in the morning)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I am the hit now for Sunday brunch! This is my permanent assignment according to friends and family. The only thing I do differently is use brown instead of white sugar to mix with cinnamon. Just a personal preference. Easy to make and very well received... and consumed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Pecan Rolls

See how to make amazing 5-star sweet rolls.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States