Overnight Caramel Pecan Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
I used to make this recipe for every special occasion and somehow lost it. Was I ecstatic to see it posted in "allrecipes"! These rolls are the best. When slicing the logs into individual rolls, use dental floss instead of a knife. The rolls don't get squashed and the cut is cleaner and easier. Use about 18". Put the floss under the roll. Holding each end of the floss, bring them up criss-cross over the log and pull in opposite directions. Kinda like a tonsillectomy, I'm told! Hope others find this way helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
This recipe is fabulous! I must admit, I usually take the lazy route, and use frozen bread dough. I use this recipe only for the caramel. I've used many other caramel recipes, and ended up with really sticky/chewy caramel. This recipe produces perfect caramel. Make certain you do not boil the caramel, or else the caramel mixture will harden! Do as the recipe says, and stir in the corn syrup after the mixture has been taken off the heat source.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2004
I was really surprised at how easy this recipe was to make. I read the reviews and noticed a couple said it needed less butter, so I skipped putting the butter on the rolled out dough. Next time I'll make it exactly as directed. Also, I made my rolls in 3 round pans, and did only one with pecan halves because so many in our family say they don't like nuts, next time I'm going to make them all with the nuts, everyone grabbed for those first and it seemed to protect the rolls from browning too much. I also used parchment paper in the bottem of my pans because someone suggested it was hard to clean, but I think if you just pop the pans right into water for a few minutes after removing the rolls, you won't have any problems with cleanup. Great recipe, thanks Andrea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERI63MI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
OH. MY. GOD! These just came out of the oven and we are all going CRAZY for them!!! I halved the amount of dough, but kept the full amount of filling and bottom stuff. I also added 1/2 a cup of toasted chopped pecans into the filling. I learned a great technique to make a warm area for the dough to rise: I put the dough and a coffee mug of freshly boiled water into the microwave (don't turn it on). The hot water makes the inside of the microwave the perfect tempertature and humidity for the dough to rise perfectly! I didn't wait overnight, I just let them rise a second time for 30 minutes in the micro again and then baked right away. Mine only took 25 minutes in the oven. EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kle_sam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Willowdale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2001
This is the best dough recipe for a cinnamon roll that I've tried. I used my bread machine and the dough turned out perfect. The topping was very good but I added a cream cheese frosting that really made the roll. The "Easiness Rating" really drops the overall rating. Rolled baked goods are never easy, and this one is no exception. It is just good messy fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsCHV
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I grew up with a recipe that is similar to this one, except it had Rhodes Rolls and butterscotch pudding for the topping. BUT, I wanted to go from scratch and when I saw this I knew that it just might work! Here is how I changed it to be like the one I grew up with... I made the dough as specified but instead of rolling it out I stopped. I lightly greased two bundt pans, put finely chopped pecans and a handful of coconut in the bottom. Then I made the caramel sauce and put that on top of that. Then I took the dough and divided it as specified and made little balls and put that on top of the sauce. Then I followed the directions after that... covering, putting in fridge and baking in the morning, instantly flipping it out to let the sauce cover that rolls. It is beautiful and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCHV

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Star, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
I tried these months ago...changed a few things, instead of the carmel glaze I spread it on the rolled dough, add cinnamon - roll in log & cut. It made my pans impossible to clean almost before. HOLIDAYS???? I make AT LEAST 2 double batches a week!!!!! Our small school teachers buy them to start out their Mondays, they are a great "Welcome New Neighbor" suprise, and as my revolving door with my 2 teenagers & friends.... Well, there is not one in there for ME today w/ coffee! I do a powdered sugar glaze / milk / maple flavoring - just drizzle across.... No one has ever turned one down - or left crumbs!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2002
I have been looking for a great roll recipe for the longest time. I was a bit hesitant to try something from on line, but I gave it a shot and it turned out beautiful! I was a little crunched on time so the fridge time was not exactly the recomended, but they still worked, just like in the bakery, and I do mean these girls were huge! Try it for you family and I promise they will be asking for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2002
We make these now for a quick breakfast before going to church on Sunday! We do one pan with pecans and pan without (for the kids). It's a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I tried this recipe for the first time yesterday, made for a gathering for the "girls" Christmas party. Seventeen accomplished cooks and bakers raved over these and requested the recipe! I made a double batch (four dozen), and made a couple changes. One inadvertent one was that I used cornstarch instead of baking powder by accident (the red Rumford cans look the same!). It didn't seem to hurt the finished product one bit, though. I also doubled the amount of the caramel for each recipe at the suggestion of others here, and was glad I did. It was just the right amount and wouldn't have been enough if I hadn't doubled it. Also, I generously slathered the dough with a "cinnamon butter" made with the cinnamon, butter and BROWN sugar instead of the white. The cinnamon I used was 2 percent oil, too, so had a nice strong cinnamon presence. Combing the three ingredients was easier. As to the pan cleaning? Use disposable medium-weight foil pans sprayed with Pam. The rolls slip right out when inverted (leave the pan on for a few minutes to allow all the caramel to run over rolls) and the pan gets crumpled up and tossed away! I'm going to make them again for Christmas morning. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Pecan Rolls

See how to make amazing 5-star sweet rolls.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States