Overnight Caramel Pecan Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
These were awesome! I rolled and sliced the dough pretty thin and it made 5 cake pans full (around 9 rolls each). (I used disposable foil pans for easy cleanup.) I let one pan rise for about 30 minutes and baked it right away; the other pans I froze in gallon ziplocs, thawed in the fridge overnight, and baked per the recipe. Relatively easy and SOOOOO good!! These are a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I tried this recipe for the first time yesterday, made for a gathering for the "girls" Christmas party. Seventeen accomplished cooks and bakers raved over these and requested the recipe! I made a double batch (four dozen), and made a couple changes. One inadvertent one was that I used cornstarch instead of baking powder by accident (the red Rumford cans look the same!). It didn't seem to hurt the finished product one bit, though. I also doubled the amount of the caramel for each recipe at the suggestion of others here, and was glad I did. It was just the right amount and wouldn't have been enough if I hadn't doubled it. Also, I generously slathered the dough with a "cinnamon butter" made with the cinnamon, butter and BROWN sugar instead of the white. The cinnamon I used was 2 percent oil, too, so had a nice strong cinnamon presence. Combing the three ingredients was easier. As to the pan cleaning? Use disposable medium-weight foil pans sprayed with Pam. The rolls slip right out when inverted (leave the pan on for a few minutes to allow all the caramel to run over rolls) and the pan gets crumpled up and tossed away! I'm going to make them again for Christmas morning. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
FABULOUS!! I can't give enough praise for this; we use it every Christmas morning and it is something to look forward to! I don't use quite as many nuts as the recipe calls for, otherwise I don't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
SO GOOD.....TAKES A LOT OF TIME, ETC. BUT MY HUBBY CLDN'T STOP EATING THEM AT COFFEE BREAK......I HAD TO HAVE ONE TOO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cactuslady
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Due to the feedback of other users, I doubled the butter and cinnamon sugar in the rolls, and 1.5X the "goo". They are perfect! I make them in 4 8x8's instead of 2 9x13 which makes them the perfect size for my family. I make one and freeze the other 3-they are great to have on hand for company or special mornings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This recipe is great. Its a wonderful basic cinnamon roll recipe. I make the dough in my bread machine, which simplifies things a ton. I double the amount of cinnamon and sugar filling, and instead of making the caramel sauce, I make a cream cheese frosting. I tried the caramel once and it was just too much of a hassle, and its just as good with the cream cheese. Thanks so much for the recipe! Its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astacy12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by staceywatts
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
These are quite good but could be great with a couple changes. First double the caramel sauce. The rolls do not have enough caramel topping. Second double the butter in the filling, change the white sugar to brown and double it. Reduce the cinnamon in half so it doesn't overpower the caramel. The taste was good, the pecans crisp, the caramel flavor good. But with the stated changes these would be exceptional!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staceywatts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
actually only used the carmel part - but one of the best I've had. Not grainy or hard, just soft gooey goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
So good! I made this ahead of time, on a Friday evening using a log of purchased bread dough that I thawed. I prepped my rolled out dough as stated, spreading with softened butter, cinnamon and sugar, and cut into rolls. For the topping, I doubled the recipe. I put it together and let it sit in the fridge overnight, and on Saturday morning let it sit out for about 30 mins before baking. The result was deeelicious rolls, perfectly sticky. I've had problems in the past with caramel topping getting too hard or too grainy, but no problems with this topping--it turned out great. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poofiemom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I saw a pic by a previous reviewer of the bundt pan version of this recipe and decided to do that for a large brunch I was having (mostly just to save time). I think there were 6 coffee cakes and this recipe were the first to go! As noted in a previous post, when you make it in a bundt pan, you can just throw in the topping at the bottom of the greased bundt pan, then roll little balls of dough in your hands (mine were mostly grape sized with a few golf ball sized) and then you don't have to roll out. It saves a lot of time and it looks very fancy. Note that when you make this recipe in a bundt pan it will increase the bake time by 20-30 minutes. I just looked at when the edges were getting just slightly brown and took it out then. The only one thing I would do differently next time is to roll the dough balls in a bit of sugar and cinnamon or easier yet- once you have your first layer of balls in the bundt pan, sprinkle the entire thing with sugar and cinnamon. The dough at the bottom was good, but it could have been tastier. I think that would give it some more color and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Pecan Rolls

See how to make amazing 5-star sweet rolls.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States