Overnight Blueberry French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
My husband and I thought it was delicious. I did use a heavy Tuscan bread and I used frozen blueberries, strawberries and raspberries that I thawed first the sauce was great. I did double the sauce recipe like I had seen suggested. Will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I tried this with Italian Bread from the bakery, followed the instructions exactly and it was disgusting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
LOVED it! I kept the recipe exactly how it stated, including the amount of cream cheese, and it was fabulous. I did cut the cream cheese into smaller cubes, the sugar in the "syrup" does need to be decreased maybe down to 3/4 cup (?) for it was too sweet for our liking. I used regular whole wheat loaf bread. I just put the slices out on a cookie sheet to "stale up" and then used them that way for I refused to buy special bread for this recipe. My picky father even enjoyed this dish very much. We agree'd it could be for dessert due to the sweetness. My father put a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top of his, so I tried it...reminded me of blueberry cobbler/pie. I'll be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I made this for Christmas day for a large group. It was very easy and very, very good! There is no need for extra syrup or toppings and leftovers made a great dessert warmed up and topped with a scoop of French vanilla ice cream! I did not add anything or change the recipe. I cut the cream cheese in small cubes and "stretched" them to rectangles to cover the whole layer. It worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Macy didn't like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
oh my gosh, good! It's like dessert for breakfast. I made this for Christmas morn and I tore it up, hahah! My husband said it's too sweet but who asked him, lol! I will absolutely make this again. The leftovers kept real well and I was able to eat it for breakfasts for over a week. I may try what some of the other reviewers suggested next time, shredding the cheese, etc. The large chunks of cheese were not the best, it's ok when it's fresh out of the oven because you can just swirl it all together. The sauce on top was just wonderful. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This was a total hit for our Christmas brunch! I actually didn't expect the kids to like it because they aren't big on blueberries--but they came back for seconds. Used thawed, fresh Maine blueberries (which I'd frozen myself)...so much better than the big grocery blueberries--if you can get them, use them! (Wyman's frozen blueberries are also Maine berries, if you can't get them fresh yourself.) I did take some of the suggestions of others and reduced to 10 eggs, dusted with cinnamon and fresh grated nutmeg before refrigerating, and whipped the cream cheese with a tiny bit of milk and about 1/4 c. of powdered sugar so it would spread a little easier. Definitely need to press the bread into the liquid mix before letting it sit overnight, so it gets well sopped up. Served the syrup on the side, but it's definitely what makes this dish special, so don't forgo it altogether! This will stay on our rotation for a long, long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
So yummy! Used less cream cheese, more fresh blueberries. Will experiment with other fruit - strawberries, raspberries, blackberries, banannas. Also thinking banannas with peanut butter substituted for cream cheese. Possibilities are endless! Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This was a total hit for New Year's Day brunch! I followed the advice of previous reviewers and whipped the cream cheese with milk and sugar so it would spread more easily. I also used a sprinkle of cinnamon on top of the first layer and would add some more to the top layer next time. I also reduced the eggs to 10 and doubled the blueberries. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This is the second time I've tried a French toast casserole and both have been too soggy in the middle! I've read that some people prefer these to be the texture of bread pudding, but I would like mine to be more firm. Not sure what I'm doing wrong, maybe it's the bread? I used sourdough this time because it's all I could find. Anyway, flavor was good but I personally feel it was way too much cream cheese. I agree with others that should be cut in half. Also less egg and it definitely needs cinnamon and more maple syrup. The cream cheese needs a different solution too. I like the idea of creaming it first like others mentioned so you don't get big chunks of cream cheese. Good idea but this recipe needs some work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 855) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States