Overnight Blueberry French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This was really good....I made it for Christmas breakfast and it was devoured! I did as other reviewers had suggested and only used 10 eggs and I used frozen raspberries as my husband is allergic to blueberries. I also spread the cream cheese on the French bread slices (sandwich style) then cubed...no worries about trying to spread the cream cheese :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Just Okay - will not make again. Kids didn't like it and these are kids that love sweet breakfast. Sounded good. But something was off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Gables, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I thought this was great as written. The only change I made was using a loaf of challah bread. I broke it up and let it sit on the counter all day and prepped the rest before bed. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
My 9 year old granddaughter and I made this for our family Christmas morning brunch and was delighted with the results. We followed the recipe as stated except used frozen blueberries and probably used more than what the recipe said! Everyone loved it and I was very pleased with being able to make it the day before and free up Christmas morning. I will make this again with only one change and that change would be to use a little less cream cheese. Regardless, it's a 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This was so easy, so forgiving, and so pretty. I just used my own preference for content sizes and it wasn't heavy like some breakfast bakes can be. Love that glaze on top. Nice Christmas surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Big Christmas morning hit. It took a little longer to bake than expected but everyone loved it. I beat a little lemon extract and 1/4 c. sugar to the cream to help compliment the blueberries. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This was a hit at our house! After watching the video and reading reviews, it seemed it would be a good change from our usual Christmas egg casserole. We already had some wonderful blackberries, so i used them, with good results. i will do next time with blueberries which are hubby's favorite. Also, i added some cinnamon and fresh grated nutmeg. For our family, I only used one brick of cream cheese with the dozen eggs, and 1/2 c sugar in the sauce, knowing I could always add some. The sauce ended up still so sweet that I added about 2 1/2 Tbsp of fresh lemon juice for brightness. That seemed just right and the sauce had gotten a bit thick anyhow. Next time I may only use 1 Tbsp of corn starch. Our family of six ate about half the casserole, but we look forward to leftovers. The sauce was served on the side to allow for personal taste. I can see making extra sauce to use on ice cream, etc.--it was yummy! Thanks so much for sharing--loved it and may have to always have it even if an egg casserole is also on menu. This time, though, I served with sausage links and patties and fresh fruit. Again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy Springs, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
OMG this was delicious! Made this for breakfast on Xmas morning. Made some slight changes based on others feedback. Used Italian bread for this. Softened 1 bar of cream cheese in the micro and mixed with 1/4c of powdered sugar, vanilla extract, cinnamon, nutmeg, & cloves and spread on first layer of bread. Will up the cream cheese next time! Used 1-1/2c frozen blueberries and topped with rest of bread. Used 10 eggs and added 1/2c white sugar instead of the syrup. Added some extra cinnamon and nutmeg to the mix. Let sit overnight and popped in the oven for about 1 hour and 15mins at 350. Didn't have time to let it come to room temp before baking so added a few mins to overall cooking time to make sure it was cooked all the way. For the syrup, used 1-1/2 c frozen blueberries and lemon zest and juice from 1 lemon. Add lemon to this it made such a difference! also added a splash of vanilla extract. My hubby who isn't fond of sweets went back for seconds. Its warm and gooey and very comforting. Will definitely make again. Maybe try cherries next time. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This made a wonderful Christmas breakfast! Everyone really enjoyed! It was sooooo easy too! And looked beautiful! Really perfect for a special occasion! The only thing i changed was i used frozen blueberries. I also doubled the syrup! The bread i used was an italian loaf. I think the only thing i would change would be to make the cream cheese chunks a little smaller the next time i make it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I think this recipe is perfect...I followed the recipe to a tee and I think the only thing I would change is sprinkling cinnamon on top of the bread and adding another tsp of vanilla in the egg mixture along with adding either lemon zest or juice in the blueberry syrup. I don't understand the other reviews where people are adding confectioners sugar to the cream cheese and "spreading" it on the bread cubes. I thnk the cubed cream cheese is just fine, it does melt perfectly as it bakes. If you really like cinnamon you could probably add cinnamon to the egg mixture also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 840) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States