Overnight Blueberry French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Best casserole ever, this is a once a year, Christmas breakfast signature dish for our house. We use French bread loaf , organic eggs, and frozen blueberries that we collected during the season. This year I did not have enough blueberries then my husband made a strawberry sauce. Thank you Karan1946!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Wonderful and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I have now made this breakfast casserole two years in a row for our Christmas breakfast. I have followed the recipe as written except that I have made it with Italian bread, including the crust, instead of sliced white bread, based on the advice of other reviewers. I also sprinkled about 1/4 cup confectioner's sugar over the cream cheese cubes (all 16 ounces!) and doubled the syrup, which I put in a small pitcher for self-serve. Each time I made this I did not find it necessary to "spread" the cream cheese. I just made sure the cream cheese cubes were small and then pressed the casserole firmly after topping with the second layer of cubed bread so that the cheese would melt into it as it baked. I used frozen blueberries the first time and fresh blueberries the second time with little or no variation in taste or texture. This casserole is REALLY delicious, very easy and saves so much time since the preparations can be done the day before! Be sure you bring it out of the fridge about 30 minutes before baking to take the chill off and allow it to cook thoroughly. I serve this casserole with good quality (i.e., meaty) bacon. A perfect pairing! I will continue to make it for holidays and other special occasions because it always disappears among rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
We were very excited to try this and really wanted to like this. Following the advice of many reviewers we used 10 eggs, italian bread, added a little cinnamon on top, and for fun threw a few strawberries on as well. The result was just... not good. It had a strange off flavor, almost like a salt. Once you got past that it was just a very bland flavor. None of us finished our plate. We will not be trying this recipe again, which says a lot for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
2nd Christmas morning we have used this recipe. We really like this one, & you can use any fruits. MAKE SURE TO TAKE OUT OF THE FRIDGE 30MINS BEFORE BAKING. Next year we are going to follow the advice of others & use grated cream cheese & French loaf bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Made this for Christmas brunch at work. It was delicious! Used sour dough bread smeared with blueberry cream cheese then cut in one inch chunks. Added cinnamon to the egg mixture and also stirred in the bread chunks to set overnight. Only used 1/2 cup sugar to the blueberry sauce and added some lemon juice. I would recommend this recipe for everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I would recommend using costco' s homemade bakery bread and cutting it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherry finnerty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I made this recipe for a Work related Secret Santa Breakfast. Everyone really liked it. I used regular white bread and cut off the crusts. Next time I will do as many have recommended and use french bread. I also replaced the cream cheese with combo of creme fraiche and mascarpone. Like others, I added cinnamon also. Next time, I will use less sugar and will not use corn starch for the blue berry sauce. I added some balsamic vinegar to the sauce to counter balance the other flavors. I will try lemon next time. Overall, a crowd pleaser, relatively easy to make and works well with the ahead of time prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Instead of white bread I use raison cinnamon bread it give an extra bit of flavour. I have to admit it's my mother in law's idea but very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I made this recipe one Mothers' Day for the extended family. I made one mistake. I didn't see the division between the main recipe and the sauce. I mixed it all together, put it in the refrig. overnight, and baked it in the morning. It was very sweet, but the grandchildren loved it. I will try it again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 895) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States