Overnight Blueberry French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 8, 2015
Followed the recipe only cut it in half excellent wouldn't change anything. Everyone I've made this for loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
I have tried this recipe several times, it was excellent. Everyone wanted more. Its definitely a nice treat for breakfast. I used canned peaches on mine. I also doubled the topping part of recipe. I will make it when family & friends come to visit us on vacation. I do occasionally make it on weekends for ourselves. Matter of fact making it today for tomorrow and making an extra one and freezing it. I think it will still be Ok. I did put add the topping on top overnight, easier that way, no extra pots & pans in the AM. Try it you will be glad you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
Fantastic. I only used one block of cream cheese and a bit less sugar in the blueberry sauce. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
This is a very good recipe. As is, it needs some tweaks to fit our family. I doubled the blueberries on both the toast itself and in the syrup. Since we didn't like biting into hunks of cream cheese, on the second try I beat 12oz of cream cheese with sugar to taste, a bit of vanilla extract, and a splash of heavy cream until smooth. Instead of fighting to spread it, I loaded the cream cheese mixture into a pastry bag and evenly piped it on top of the first layer of bread. I also added a tablespoon of cinnamon to the egg mixture and substituted evaporated milk for regular milk. The final tweak was I added a quarter cup of lemon juice to the syrup. This would be good with any fruit and next time I am trying it with peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki  Boyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Golden, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
My 10 year old daughter made this with a little supervision. We used vienna bread (like french bread) with good results. It puffed up beautifully after we removed the foil! I would use only 8 oz of cream cheese next time and cut it into smaller cubes, maybe 1/2" instead of 1". Served the blueberry sauce on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I should have given this 5 stars, but the blueberries I purchased weren't sweet at all but real tart/sour. I think had the berries been better the recipe would have been great. The presentation was very appealing, and the flavor was great as long as you ate around the berries! So taste the berries before you start!!! I'll definitely try this again, when the berries are in season locally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Only used 8oz cream cheese and sliced it thin to cover the bread. This is great the next day cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
This was very delicious!! I made the following changes based on reviews. I mixed 1/4 c powdered sugar into about 12 oz of cream cheese, I increased the blueberries to 2 cups. 12 slices of bread was not enough (even though it was oversized sheepherders), so I cubed up the rest of the loaf and toasted it in the oven. Well, I got distracted and they ended up a cross between stale cubes and croutons, but I used them anyway, and you could not tell! This was very good. HOWEVER, I think you need to be careful with the quantity of sugar. Our blueberries weren't very sweet, so if you ate the casserole w/o any syrup, it was perfect, as far as sweetness goes. However, if you poured on the very, very sweet blueberry syrup, it was too sweet for everyone except for the kids! Edible, but sweet. When I make it again, I will NOT add sugar to the cream cheese, and I will use just 8 oz. It was a whole lot of cream cheese in the middle....about the thickness of a thick layer of frosting in the middle of the cake. For our family, just a little too gooey/rich. Bottom line...my advice, follow the recipe as written except decrease the cream cheese to just one pkg., unless you want a thick layer of cheese. You may need to increase your bread cubes, and you may consider decreasing the sugar in the syrup, depending on how sweet the blueberries are....the syrup is excellent, but VERY sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
I didn't care for the chunks of cream cheese. I don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Yum! Whole family loved it. Used a loaf of cinnamon bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 919) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States