Overnight Blueberry French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
It was great! I used water with the eggs instead of the milk, I didn't add the butter, and I added cinnamon on top but followed everything else and it was perfect not too sweet or full of calories. One small container of low-fat Greek vanilla yogurt instead of the cream cheese also worked well for our diets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Let me begin by saying I took other readers suggestions in making this recipe so I am judging it based on my changes. (Drives me nuts when someone rates a recipe low based on their changes!) It was FABULOUS! 1st, frozen blueberries worked out great. 2nd, I creamed 8oz of cream cheese with 1/4 cup powdered sugar, 1 tsp vanilla, and a splash of milk. This allowed me to smooth it out more easily. 3rd, I only used 10 large eggs. Lastly, I doubled the blueberry sauce recipe, using 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup brown sugar. So yummy! Thank you for sharing the recipe and thanks to every who shared their changes. The perfect Christmas morning breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I mostly followed the script but per some of the reviews I read modified a few things. I used a French Baguette for the bread. I used a can of blueberry pie filling instead of making a blueberry syrup and added this to the middle layer. My own twist was I used mascarpone cheese instead of cream cheese. I scattered 8 oz of the cheese with a spoon. To the egg mixture with 10 eggs & I added cinnamon. I also added a sprinkle of cinnamon on top and added some lemon zest to the blueberry pie/fresh blueberry mixture. I put the casserole in the fridge overnight, pulled it out about 45 minutes ahead of baking it. I flipped the entire casserole over prior to baking per a review and this seemed to help in the cooking process so everything was mixed up well and not too soggy. I sprinkled a little brown sugar on top prior to baking for grins. It turned out great!!!! I simply served it with some maple syrup. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing the recipe! Happy Holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I used less cream cheese. Its better when its set up for at least an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I was a little disappointed with this recipe. Seemed a little bland for my liking unless you put a lot of the blueberry topping on it which was wonderful. No one in my house went back for seconds and they are all blueberry fans. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I have been saving this recipe for a Christmas holiday opportunity. I forgot to start it the night before but decided to go with it anyway. I read through reviews to see if anyone else had done this, but didn't find any reference, it would be nice to have a search function on the reviews. I went boldly ahead, and used homemade bread that was a couple days old, a good solid bread. I spread the cream cheese on the bread and cut it up. I used twice the amount of blueberries and then added the mixture of egg milk vanilla over the top. Because I wasn't going to store in the fridge, I left it out on the counter for about 45 min or an hour with a plate over it and my teapot on top to weigh it down and force the bread to be more smooshed into the egg mixture. it looked like the egg was pretty well absorbed, and it baked up well. Since I used frozen blueberries I baked it 40 minutes then another 40 with the cover off. I made the sauce per instruction, and it all came out great. I will definitely try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bread maker baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I have made this many times without one change. It is excellent and always impressive to my guests. I owned a bakery for years and understand the desire to adjust recipes to meet tastes and preferences. Try this one as written first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Great recipe!! Changed eggs to 10 and increased blueberry to 2 cups. I decreased cream cheese to 1brick and added 1 cup of milk to it and blended it slowly in microwave mixing ever 15 seconds until nearly smooth. Do not scald milk!! Don't worry if small lumps still exist. Cooked on the second day at 325 for 30 minutes covered and 30 minutes uncovered. Brought it out and let it rest for 15 minutes. Wonderful!! Gave it 5 stars anyway because this recipe is very easy and forgiving!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This was good. Very easy to throw together. Needs cinnamon or something but will make again with strawberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Higginsville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Dixon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I prepared this for Thanksgiving morning. It was a hit for sure!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 906) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States