Overnight Blueberry French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
So yummy! Used less cream cheese, more fresh blueberries. Will experiment with other fruit - strawberries, raspberries, blackberries, banannas. Also thinking banannas with peanut butter substituted for cream cheese. Possibilities are endless! Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This was a total hit for New Year's Day brunch! I followed the advice of previous reviewers and whipped the cream cheese with milk and sugar so it would spread more easily. I also used a sprinkle of cinnamon on top of the first layer and would add some more to the top layer next time. I also reduced the eggs to 10 and doubled the blueberries. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This is the second time I've tried a French toast casserole and both have been too soggy in the middle! I've read that some people prefer these to be the texture of bread pudding, but I would like mine to be more firm. Not sure what I'm doing wrong, maybe it's the bread? I used sourdough this time because it's all I could find. Anyway, flavor was good but I personally feel it was way too much cream cheese. I agree with others that should be cut in half. Also less egg and it definitely needs cinnamon and more maple syrup. The cream cheese needs a different solution too. I like the idea of creaming it first like others mentioned so you don't get big chunks of cream cheese. Good idea but this recipe needs some work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This was liked by all who ate it although some commented it was too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
The only reason I'm giving four stars and not five is the lengthy bake time. Pretty much became brunch instead of breakfast!! It was pretty good though. Better than I thought it would be. I cut the recipe in half for 2 adults and my three year old daughter(who actually ate it and even said it was good)! Hubby liked it and was busted attacking it with a fork later that night!!! I did alter recipe a tiny bit just by adding pecans that toasted up nice in the oven and made blueberry sauce not as sweet by adding 1/4 cup less sugar, a couple squirts of lemon juice and little cinnamon. I also used a little bit less cream cheese and cut it into smaller chunks. I would like to make this again for a special occasion breakfast or brunch. Good one for something like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Great recipe! I would reduce the cream cheese just a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I've made this several times just as written with the exception of the bread, I use gluten free from Rudi's. It is amazing!! The sauce is perfect with this, and can be used on pancakes or ice cream. I recently took it to recipe club and it was a huge hit! The ladies wanted to know what, if anything I had done differently. They were very surprised about the bread in a good way I guess, cause they ate every last bite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Summit, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I made this to serve on christmas morning and it was divine. I had read some of the reviews and some people said theirs came out soggy but I used Texas toast for the bread and it came out perfect. This is very sweet and rich almost like a desert than a breakfast. Not something I will make often but nice for special occasions. The blueberry sauce is fantastic I plan on making the sauce again next time I make pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This was really good....I made it for Christmas breakfast and it was devoured! I did as other reviewers had suggested and only used 10 eggs and I used frozen raspberries as my husband is allergic to blueberries. I also spread the cream cheese on the French bread slices (sandwich style) then cubed...no worries about trying to spread the cream cheese :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Just Okay - will not make again. Kids didn't like it and these are kids that love sweet breakfast. Sounded good. But something was off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Gables, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 858) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States