Overnight Blueberry French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Pleasantly surprised! I normally do not write when I alter the recipe as much as I did but I felt I could still offer a critique on one area of the recipe. the mixture of egg, vanilla and syrup was perfect. I also think 1 hour bake was too long, I took mine out early. I did not add cream cheese or the sauce on top because I am watching calories. But I am sure it tastes great. I also added cinnamon to top of bread and baked uncovered the whole time because I used very soft bread. I did appreciate having somewhere to start, thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
I made a version of this with a few alterations for a group of family and friends. Winner! Of the many breakfast dishes i have tried for this group, this is the first one loved by everyone who tried it. I wanted this to be something we could "grab and go," so I decided to skip the sauce, and moved the sugar to the egg mixture. I added the grated zest of an orange, and sprinkled the second cup of blueberries on top as a final layer. It was plenty sweet (if not too sweet for my taste). No one could taste the maple syrup, but they liked the combo of orange and blueberries. No one minded the chunks of cream cheese. In fact, I thought they made a good contrast with the sweetness of the rest. Next time, I plan to omit the maple syrup and drizzle some melted butter over the top before baking. I'll be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orea de Sa'Hana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This was a huge hit here. I made half a recipe, but kept the original amounts of blueberries. I LOVE blueberries. I worried that it might be too watery since my blueberries were frozen, but it was fine. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Awesome! Everyone who tried it loved it, even the one who said "it's not really my thing, but I'll try it". I prefer making french toast with croissants (from the grocery store bakery), so I used croissants instead of sliced bread. This is a fabulous treat for family or a special occasion, and I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amina
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Yumm. I just added fresh lemon juice to the blueberry mix. It was gorgeous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by valsell
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
I think 2 cups blueberries are needed! I will actually rate it with 5 stars. I made this last weekend for my in-laws and parents. It was a hit! Unfortunately, I thought I only needed 1 pkg of cream chs so that's all I purchased and used. Next time I want to make it with peaches, then other fruit. Also, I'm going to add cinnamon and will definitely cream the cream cheese. Excited to make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Beautiful presentation! Served this to a group after a morning motorcycle ride with a side of peppered bacon and mimosas. Perfect ending to a beautiful sunny spring morning. Thank you Karan1946 for the submission. You made me look like a rock star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by oldmanian
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Great recipe, I doubled the amount of blueberries in both the sauce and the overnight portion. WHEN I make this again I'll probably use a 3rd less sugar in the sauce, but that's a taste preference. Would definitely recommend this recipe. I used a loaf of Italian bread from Wegman's and let it sit for a day and a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
This Blueberry French Toast was absolutely delicious I will be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Carter
Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
With all of the fatty foods in this dish I was hoping for something wonderful. Alas, this missed the mark. Most of the bread remained crunchy and the parts with liquids didn't have any flavor. What little flavor there was didn't blend well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 906) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States