Overnight Blueberry French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Excellent!! I can tell you how many rave reviews I get when making this dish. It is great as a dessert topped with whipped cream or ice cream and xtra sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Oh my God, is this good! I have made it and served it twice within a two week period. My husband and mother both loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Photo by the home mom
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
We just tried this, it is awesome just the way it is. I did tweak it a bit though so here are my suggestions; the cream cheese really didn't distribute so next time I will cream it with the eggs as previously suggested. If you want the decadent feel of it just use ten eggs not 12, we only had ten this time. We added a teaspoon of cinnamon and nutmeg. Did a tablespoon of vanilla, buttermilk instead of milk. For the sauce we only used 1/2 a cup of sugar, the fruit is sweet enough. Next time I'm using peaches in the bread egg mix and making a blueberry sauce to top it with. I try to add as much nutrient value to the food I make for my family so I made my own loaf of bread from scratch and used it the very same night, no need for it to be day old, I cut most of the crust off, not all. 3 cups white wheat flour 1 cup ground flax seeds 1/4 cup sugar 2 teaspoons salt 1 packet of yeast 1 1/2 cups water 3/4 cup milk or buttermilk 1/4 cup oil bake the bread at 350F until the internal temperature is 190F
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the home mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Extremely sweet. Would like to try it with something other than Blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This is a great make-ahead recipe, especially if you have overnight guests. I, too, made a couple of alterations. I cut back on the eggs (10) and doubled the blueberries. I also sprinkle the top with sugar before I bake it. I would say the only challenge this recipe has for me is that I have to remember to give myself 1 1/2 hours (30 minutes to "sit"and another hour to bake) in order to have it ready by the time my guests/family are ready to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
The bread you use can make a big difference. I use a loaf of French bread and reduce the eggs to 8. This gives a good ratio - not too soggy. Cream cheese and blueberry amounts are personal preference but we prefer a bit less. We also skip the sauce just for time sake. I look for recipes to add to my everyday cooking and without sauce and less cheese this works well. We serve it with maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
My family loved this recipe it was so delicious and my daughter asked for me to do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
used one block of cream cheese. just diced it up all around and it was fine. used less sugar as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Made this Christmas morning :) was delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Really very good. I used fresh blueberries and the only change I made was to soften the cream cheese and pipe it over the bread cubes instead of tossing chunks of it it; after experience with a similar recipe, I found that the chunks give the final product a strange, unfinished texture. Husband and child both readily gobbled it up, and leftovers didn't last long either. This one's going into my permanent files.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V. L. Hartman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 858) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States