Overnight Blueberry French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
As suggested I could: decrease the cream cheese & mix with milk to spreadable consistency; best to use Italian Bread & cube it a day ahead; use more Blueberries, or use Strawberries or any other berries; pour half the sauce over it after baking, & serve the rest on the side; OR EVEN TRY MASCARPONE CHEESE INSIDE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
WARNING THIS STUFF WILL RAISE THE DEAD (with smiles of course)!! My teenagers' cares about being woke up "too early" or someone seeing their "bed head" fly out the window when this deliciousness is hot and ready to eat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I loved this! I would call it bread pudding rather than French toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This was a decent breakfast/brunch, but takes too much time to cook in the morning and ties up the oven for an hour which is a big down side, in my opinion, especially on a holiday morning when you need the oven for Turkey, Ham, and such. It was a little soggy and the cream cheese didn't melt so was still in clumps. Getting chunks of cream cheese took away from the rest of the dish. I don't think I would make this again given the time it takes in the morning (30 min. to set out of the fridge and then another hour in the oven on top of prepping the sauce), but if I did I would probably use a little less milk and egg mixture or a bigger dish with more bread AND would use less cream cheese and melt it with some blueberries and pour it over instead of leaving it in chunks. The blueberry sauce was super simple and I give it 5 stars! Will be using it again for sure with regular french toast or other suitable dishes. Overall, this recipe was okay, but could be better with some tweaks. However, I would not consider it a good holiday breakfast/brunch as the time it takes to cook and prep the morning of is too inconvenient. It is a really pretty dish when done though so if you are looking for something pretty to present and have the time in the morning this would be a great choice (again with some small tweaks).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Great recipe. It is a Christmas morning tradition in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
We love this recipe. Tastes amazing. Everyone I share it with agrees that it is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Excellent!! I can tell you how many rave reviews I get when making this dish. It is great as a dessert topped with whipped cream or ice cream and xtra sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Oh my God, is this good! I have made it and served it twice within a two week period. My husband and mother both loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Photo by the home mom
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
We just tried this, it is awesome just the way it is. I did tweak it a bit though so here are my suggestions; the cream cheese really didn't distribute so next time I will cream it with the eggs as previously suggested. If you want the decadent feel of it just use ten eggs not 12, we only had ten this time. We added a teaspoon of cinnamon and nutmeg. Did a tablespoon of vanilla, buttermilk instead of milk. For the sauce we only used 1/2 a cup of sugar, the fruit is sweet enough. Next time I'm using peaches in the bread egg mix and making a blueberry sauce to top it with. I try to add as much nutrient value to the food I make for my family so I made my own loaf of bread from scratch and used it the very same night, no need for it to be day old, I cut most of the crust off, not all. 3 cups white wheat flour 1 cup ground flax seeds 1/4 cup sugar 2 teaspoons salt 1 packet of yeast 1 1/2 cups water 3/4 cup milk or buttermilk 1/4 cup oil bake the bread at 350F until the internal temperature is 190F
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the home mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Extremely sweet. Would like to try it with something other than Blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 845) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States