Overnight Blueberry French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
We had this for breakfast on Memorial Day. I used leftover hamburger buns and hot dog buns for the bread. Followed the rest of the recipe as directed. It is very delicious and our entire family loved it. I highly suggest that you start blueberry syrup when you take cover off for last 25-30 min of baking. Gives you plenty of time for the blueberries to burst. Oh n don't forget the butter at the end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
Very good. I made a few changes per others suggestions. Ten eggs instead of 12 and used electric mixer for the cream cheese and added 1/4 cup powdered sugar to it. My husband who doesn't like blueberries loves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
With a little tweaking this was amazing. I'm giving it 3 stars b/c when I made it the first time, following the original recipe, it was just okay. The second time around I ended up cutting the cream cheese by half (1-8oz pkg) and blending it with a 1/4 cup of powdered sugar, a tbsp of lemon zest, and 1/4 cup lemon juice until it was smooth and creamy. I then spread it over the first layer of bread cubes before adding the blueberries. I also used day old Italian loaf instead of plain white bread and cut the eggs to only 8. With those adjustments it was a winner and has quickly become a family favorite. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiTi233

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bpainter68
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Very sweet, may half the recipe. At least 30 min out of refrigerator before cooking. May need 40 min cook time to cook through center. Topping is also great for pancakes or waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Terri B
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Very delicious. I made the Citrus Blueberry Sauce recipe from this site instead. My family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
We loved this, it's the perfect group breakfast. I did add some all spice, cinnamon and nutmeg to the berry sauce but the rest I kept the same so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef@Heart
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
We loved it! I am one of those people who doesn't quite have the ingredients on hand so I either omit or sub for ingredients. In this case, I did not have any vanilla extract but since it is mostly for flavoring I was willing to forgo it since the other ingredients compensate. I also modified the sugar/fat content by reducing the sugar and cream cheese amount. Also, could not let it sit overnight in the refrig. Instead, I mixed all the ingredients together in a blender (cream cheese too and add milk to make it a bit more runny if needed). Took the bread cubes (I used brioche) toss it all in together with the blue berries and popped it in my oven proof container and baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Loved it!! Easy to prepare and delicious. Prepared it for my wife and mther-in-law on Mother's Day, and got rave reviews!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Tried this for the first time for a Mother's Day brunch. I followed everyone's suggestion to reduce to 10 eggs, double the sauce as well as use Italian bread. This came out fantastic. We did add in a side dish of homemade lemon curd which went very well. Everyone was so thrilled with the dish that I shared the recipe with all. Will make again and try other fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
I loved this! I used 10 eggs and 1.5 pkg's of cream cheese. I used good quality french bread and left it out for a day to get stale. I kind of used my hands and massaged the softened cream cheese into the bread. I also made 1.5 times of the blueberry sauce, it really kind of makes it special. I added some lemon juice to the blueberry sauce and it helped a lot.It is a rich heavy breakfast but delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 919) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States