Overnight Asparagus Mushroom Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This made a delicious Christmas morning breakfast! I forgot to toast the muffins, and was only able to wedge 4.5 muffins into the pan. I used zucchini instead of asparagus and cooked all the veggies together before putting them atop the muffins. The was delicious and got rave reviews! I'd definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChristineNurse
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This is a fantastic dish! I followed the directions exactly, aside from sautéing the onions with the mushrooms. I did used about 1.5 cups of cheese on both layers, and broiled it at the end to brown it on top. I will be using this recipe again, I plan to try different toppings to change it up a bit. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Added more eggs (12 total), doubled shredded Colby-mix cheese to 2 cups, used baby bel mushrooms, used spinach and yellow squash instead of asparagus, added 1 tsp sriracha hotsauce. Sauteed veggies and 1 onion chopped in butter before mixing together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
My husband gave this recipe a "pretty good" which is the best review he's ever given me! I tweaked it a little, using English muffin bread in place of English muffins; half and half instead of milk; and not all of the asparagus. I also added some leftover chicken and spinach brats. It also sat longer than overnight and still came out fluffy and delicious. Next time I plan to add more mushrooms, no salt, and some different meat. But even without any meat, this strata would still be super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
This is very good. I'm eliminating the English muffins next time to save on carbs. Didn't have a red pepper or alternate so I kicked it up with some firecracker cheese from Aldi's, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Don't forget to toast the muffins, otherwise it's too soggy. A little bland but would taste great with hollandaise sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Easy & delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharB26350

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
At first the husband said 'english muffins, in a casserole?? I should half faith, right?' This was good and filling. The mushrooms disappeared to nothing - I would use the whole basket of mushrooms next time (8 oz). I think this needed seasoning and would carmelize the mushrooms with balsamic vinegar and/or add 1-2 teaspoons of Cavendar's Greek seasoning. There are overnight casserole recipes that don't really need to sit overnight, but this really did - at first the egg disappeared and I was worried it wasn't enough (the veggies were just hanging out on top), but in the oven, the casserole puffed up and beautifully, and the english muffins turned into a bread pudding of sorts. My husband's new favorite breakfast he said! I made this for work and it made 5 days worth for each of us. I bet this is also good with pepperjack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I didn't need so much, so I reduced the recipe and put it into a pie crust instead of over muffins and made a quiche. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tahoe City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Very good recipe - got several requests for it. I put a fourth teaspoon of cayenne pepper in it for a little heat. Might try half teaspoon next time but we like hotter food. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States