Overnight Asparagus Mushroom Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I did not care for the taste of the english muffins as a base - but did like the soufle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I made this for an Easter brunch and it was excellent. As most people do, I made several changes. I omitted the mushrooms, sauteed the red pepper & onion in butter, and I very quickly stuck the asparagus in boiling water - maybe 2 minutes, although I'm not sure if it's necessary to do. I used mozzarella and parmesan cheese (about 2/3 cup mozzarella and 1/3 cup parmesan), and I made 2 in different sized pans (a 6x6 and an oval pan that's maybe 10-11"), so I added 2 extra eggs and 1/2 cup milk. It took nearly an hour to bake both, but it was delicious and everyone raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
My husband who doesn't like "baked egg dishes" loved this and so did the whole family. We made our own changes using 1- 10X15 w/ 6 E. Muffins, and 1-8x8 w/ Gluten Free toasted Bread. Changes; 3/4 c bell pepper, asparagus was quick sauteed w/sherry until liquid was gone, 10 eggs, half & half instead of milk, 1 lb. herb sausage browned, drained, and twice as much organic, raw cheese. (Monterey Jack, Cheddar, Swiss). Everything else was the same, but all organic. Not too eggy, great mix, and very nice not to have to rush around this Easter morning after church. Thanks Shandeen for sharing your Mom's 5 star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I LOVED this! It was delicious! My husband and I are trying to go vegetarian and since I don't have a lot of vegetarian recipes, I served this for dinner. It was great as a dinner entree. And, it's so flavorful that I didn't miss having meat at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This was good! I did not toast the muffins first, and used steamed broccoli in place of the asparagus. I also added some cooked, chopped ham. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Excellent! Next time I might try it with a nicer cheese, like fontina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This recipe was a hit at my family get-together. I was asked for the recipe and the entire 9 x 13" casserole was devoured in 1 sitting, with several of us wishing there was more! I followed the suggestion of sauteeing the veggies in advance. I used only medium cheddar. I also added 1 tsp of sriracha hot sauce. I was also forced to use bagels rather than english muffins, and it turned out fine! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
My family loved this on Christmas morning. followed the directions exactly except I used shitake mushrooms bc I couldn't find crimini and i substituted broccoli and zucchini in place of the asparagus since I thought asparagus would be to "springy" for Christmas morning. loved the english muffins, not soggy like bread. will TOTALLY make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This was the first time I have ever made a strata. I had searched all over the site and liked the idea of the english muffin instead of the traditional cubed day old bread. I followed the recipe exactly with exception of subbing out the asparagus for ground turkey sausage (see grandpa's coriander turkey sausage on the site- you will not be disappointed.) It was so delicious and a perfect make ahead meal when you don't want to take the time to prep in the AM but want a nice meal. You can easily change this to suit your tastes and the english muffin was a great choice. Definitely making tghis again when we have company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
My wife and I enjoyed putting this together for Thanksgiving Brunch. We went with the multigrain muffins and 4oz's of diced ham. It just tasted wonderful. We'll do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Asparagus and Mozzarella Stuffed Chicken Breasts

A simple recipe that yeilds fancy results.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States