Overnight Asparagus Mushroom Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I LOVED this! It was delicious! My husband and I are trying to go vegetarian and since I don't have a lot of vegetarian recipes, I served this for dinner. It was great as a dinner entree. And, it's so flavorful that I didn't miss having meat at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This was good! I did not toast the muffins first, and used steamed broccoli in place of the asparagus. I also added some cooked, chopped ham. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Excellent! Next time I might try it with a nicer cheese, like fontina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This recipe was a hit at my family get-together. I was asked for the recipe and the entire 9 x 13" casserole was devoured in 1 sitting, with several of us wishing there was more! I followed the suggestion of sauteeing the veggies in advance. I used only medium cheddar. I also added 1 tsp of sriracha hot sauce. I was also forced to use bagels rather than english muffins, and it turned out fine! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
My family loved this on Christmas morning. followed the directions exactly except I used shitake mushrooms bc I couldn't find crimini and i substituted broccoli and zucchini in place of the asparagus since I thought asparagus would be to "springy" for Christmas morning. loved the english muffins, not soggy like bread. will TOTALLY make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This was the first time I have ever made a strata. I had searched all over the site and liked the idea of the english muffin instead of the traditional cubed day old bread. I followed the recipe exactly with exception of subbing out the asparagus for ground turkey sausage (see grandpa's coriander turkey sausage on the site- you will not be disappointed.) It was so delicious and a perfect make ahead meal when you don't want to take the time to prep in the AM but want a nice meal. You can easily change this to suit your tastes and the english muffin was a great choice. Definitely making tghis again when we have company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
My wife and I enjoyed putting this together for Thanksgiving Brunch. We went with the multigrain muffins and 4oz's of diced ham. It just tasted wonderful. We'll do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I made this for Mother's Day brunch. Making most of it up the night before was a real plus. We had 6 guests and they all liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mixingmedias

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Made a lot of changes to use what was on hand. Halved the recipe. Used French bread slices leftover (which I should have cubed). One egg, egg substitute for the rest, steamed broccoli, chicken sausage, cheddar cheese and added a little parmesan on top for flavor. A little dry (I had too much bread) but I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Yum! We loved it. It was maybe a bit bready, so next time I would either increase the milk/egg a bit or leave out that extra English muffin that the recipe says to crumble in between. I also would do closer to 2 C mushrooms. The asparagus was in some cases still a bit tough, though not enough that I'd go to the trouble of steaming it first or anything. For our second helping, we added sriracha sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

How to Make Asparagus Pie

See how to make an elegant, crustless asparagus pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States