Overnight Asparagus Mushroom Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Made this for Easter brunch I was hosting and it was amazing! There were 2 other egg dishes there as well as ham and fruit salad and this was the first to go. My husband who isn't a "veggie" type guy couldn't stop eating it. I might try throwing in some artichokes or broccoli next time to get in the extra veggie I like to serve to my family. But this was a absolute keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
This is delicious! And easy. The only change I made was to add about tablespoon of fresh chopped golden Caribbean peppers (seeds and pith removed!) which added a little interesting heat and extra cheddar cheese for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizMagg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I liked this a lot, and so did my guests! I varied it slightly, using Vienna bread, and I sauteed all the veggies before adding. Also, added some sweet pork sausage, which I had browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Just made this for a brunch with friends. Turned out pretty good. I added one more egg, used one cup half and half and one cup milk and added a few dashes of cayane to the egg mixture. Like other reviewers, I cooked all the veggies together before hand (even the asparagus) and I think this really helped. The muffins held up well and it was great for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Overnight Asparagus Mushroom Strata Haiku: "This looked beautiful. Perfect for Christmas morning. Leftovers better." Put this strata together on Christmas Eve, with the only difference being that I sauteed the bell pepper and the onion with the mushrooms, and otherwise followed everything exactly as written. It made Christmas morning sooooo much easier, but as far as the taste goes, we all agreed that we would've 1. preferred spinach to asparagus, 2. added a couple drops of hot sauce, and 3. included a meat, such as diced ham or chopped bacon. I was; however, more blown away by how good it tasted as leftovers 2 days later. I would definitely make this again, but with some small adjustments, and I guess that's the nice thing about this recipe is that the vegetables can be swapped in and out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This made a delicious Christmas morning breakfast! I forgot to toast the muffins, and was only able to wedge 4.5 muffins into the pan. I used zucchini instead of asparagus and cooked all the veggies together before putting them atop the muffins. The was delicious and got rave reviews! I'd definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChristineNurse
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This is a fantastic dish! I followed the directions exactly, aside from sautéing the onions with the mushrooms. I did used about 1.5 cups of cheese on both layers, and broiled it at the end to brown it on top. I will be using this recipe again, I plan to try different toppings to change it up a bit. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Added more eggs (12 total), doubled shredded Colby-mix cheese to 2 cups, used baby bel mushrooms, used spinach and yellow squash instead of asparagus, added 1 tsp sriracha hotsauce. Sauteed veggies and 1 onion chopped in butter before mixing together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
My husband gave this recipe a "pretty good" which is the best review he's ever given me! I tweaked it a little, using English muffin bread in place of English muffins; half and half instead of milk; and not all of the asparagus. I also added some leftover chicken and spinach brats. It also sat longer than overnight and still came out fluffy and delicious. Next time I plan to add more mushrooms, no salt, and some different meat. But even without any meat, this strata would still be super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
This is very good. I'm eliminating the English muffins next time to save on carbs. Didn't have a red pepper or alternate so I kicked it up with some firecracker cheese from Aldi's, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Asparagus and Mozzarella Stuffed Chicken Breasts

A simple recipe that yeilds fancy results.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States