Overnight Apple Cinnamon French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2005
I have made this recipe a couple of times and everyone has loved it!!! A couple of things I noticed is that I could only fit about 9 slices of bread in the pan before it started overflowing and it took 1 1/2 hours for mine to cook. I think next time I make it I will only use one can of apple pie filling and then I will be able to add more bread. Also make sure you spray the foil or it will stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
This recipe was amazing. I chose it because, unlike many of the other "make ahead" french toast recipes, it truly was 100% ready to go in the morning. Just pop it in the oven. When I made it I used one can of apples, and made sure it was apples and water only--no high fructose corn syrup--to keep the recipe from being over-the-top sweet. The apples turned out so delicious, next time I probably will use two cans. I used Pepperidge Farm cinnamon raisin bread, and baked for 90 minutes. Everything else I kept exactly the same. I used a cake pan and had no problems with it boiling over. I didn't turn it upside down, and I thought it made a very nice presentation "as is" with the cinnamon swirl bread. The bread wasn't incredibly crispy, as pan fried French toast can be, but it certainly wasn't gooey either. I think using a slightly more substantial bread, like Italian or the cinnamon swirl, instead of white or French, makes a big difference. I made it for a brunch for 11 people, and everyone absolutely raved about it. It was so incredibly simple--15 minutes the night before and you're done. This will definitely become a staple in my house. Thanks for a real keeper! Note: I made this again and didn't bake it as long. Yuck! Make sure you bake it long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB2323

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
The flavor of this french toast is really great, but you really need to make sure this is cooked completely through! At 60 minutes, mine looked done, but was still very wet at the bottom of the bread layer. We had to do a little improvising under the broiler, but all reviews were still very positive! This is a keeper for sure... longer cook time and maybe a little less milk. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
This was very easy to make and very good! My husband loved it. I cut the recipe in half and baked it in a 8x8 pan. Based on advise from others, I replaced 1/2 the milk with cream and cooked it for the full 75 minutes - it came out perfect and wasn't soggy at all. To perfect this recipe, all I'd do is use just a little less brown sugar and syrup, so it's not quite as sweet. Other than that, this recipe couldn't be any better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
HUGE hit with my husband and everyone at the office. Instead of usung canned apple pie filling, I sauteed my own in a little butter and maple syrup. This made it *perfect*!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTWhite

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Vermont, USA
Living In: White River Junction, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I have made this a fewtimes and everyone just loves it! Instead of the canned pie filling, I used fresh apples (3-6), peeled and thinly sliced. I tossed those with 1/2 cup melted butter (3/4 cup leaves a soppy, greasy mess at the bottom), 3/4 cup brown sugar, and 2-3 teaspoons cinnamon. I have always been able to fit eighteen slices of bread in my 9x13 pans (three layers of six). This bakes up perfectly in 70-75 minutes. Spraying the tin foil is an absolute MUST or it will stick. This recipe will be around our house for a long, long time. It's absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
Mmmm great recipe! The only reason it did not receive 5 stars is because we did find it a little sweet for breakfast. I will definitely make this dish again for brunch, but I think next time I will use McIntosh apples instead of apple pie filling, I think the brown sugar gives it enough sweetness. I also want to mention that I cut this recipe in half and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
I just made this for Christmas brunch this morning and it was a hit! I kept it in the oven a little longer to make sure the bread was cooked all the way through! I already passed it along to my family members. Nothing but yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Wonderful recipe. I only had 1/2 cup of butter and it turned out just fine. Thank you Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Centereach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
This was a very good recipe. It was very simple to put together and bake. It was a little to sweet for my taste buds but my kids loved it. I thought it should be a little crispier too but my oven could have played a part in that. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States