Overnight Apple Cinnamon French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This is a wonderful brunch recipe – easy preparation and good flavor. I had made it in a round pan so the presentation would be attractive but it fell apart when I inverted the pan. This is probably my fault because I didn’t let it rest long enough and my bread wasn’t as stale as I usually use for French toast so it was a little mushy despite baking it for 70 minutes. But overall, the flavor is very good, and it made a yummy Sunday morning breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I have made this a fewtimes and everyone just loves it! Instead of the canned pie filling, I used fresh apples (3-6), peeled and thinly sliced. I tossed those with 1/2 cup melted butter (3/4 cup leaves a soppy, greasy mess at the bottom), 3/4 cup brown sugar, and 2-3 teaspoons cinnamon. I have always been able to fit eighteen slices of bread in my 9x13 pans (three layers of six). This bakes up perfectly in 70-75 minutes. Spraying the tin foil is an absolute MUST or it will stick. This recipe will be around our house for a long, long time. It's absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristy
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I halved the recipe and made it in a bundt cake pan. It was yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
So delicious!!!! A favorite for any special breakfast or brunch get-to-gether. I have prepared this recipes as directed with no substitutions and it has come out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Super easy, turns out great! A couple of suggestions... I've made this twice now, and it's been a hit both times!!! First time I made a 9x13 and could only fit 18 slices of bread, 2nd time I cut the recipe in half and used an 8x8 and fit about 10 pieces of bread. When it says to "press down", press down with some force, not patting the bread. The first time I made it, I used the canned apple pie filling and it was good, but too sweet (and i LOVE sweet stuff). The 2nd time I peeled and sliced apples, put them in raw, and it turned out awesome! Both times I baked mine no less than an 1hr and20min. I put a cookie sheet lined with tin foil under it to avoid bubbling over. I made sure to spread the egg mixture evenly over the bread w/ spatula, almost rubbing it in. Spraying the tinfoil so it doesn't stick to the bread is helpful. Also, I didn't invert it either time and it presented great and didn't seem to make a difference. People will be asking for the recipe guaranteed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I thought this was amazing and delicious - the kids didn't like it as much, but you can't win them all. I used homemade chunky applesauce instead of the apple pie filling. I don't think I'd use the canned filling only because it's so sweet and homemade applesauce is so easy to whip up - great recipe though! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
OMG! SOOOO GOOOOD!!! I COULDN'T FIT 20 SLICES OF BREAD IN THE PAN THOUGH - COULD ONLY FIT ABOUT 12-15 SLICES. CAN'T WAIT TO MAKE IT AGAIN!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Not exactly healthy, but very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Excellent! I made this recipe twice already. The first time I only had one can of pie filling on hand and it turned out fine. The second time I did use both cans and it was good both ways. This one is a keeper. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I made this for breakfast New Year's day and all of my guests couldn't get over how beautiful the dish looked. It not only looked beautiful but it tasted amazing. I could only fit 18 slices of white bread in my dish and I would highly recommend putting a cookie sheet underneath to catch all the yummy overflow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Clark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopewell Junction, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States