Overnight Apple Cinnamon French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Delicious! It was very sweet, so I may adjust the recipe slightly next time, but my kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I made it with 3/4 c sugar and 1/2 c butter but I still didn't like it. It didn't seem that appealing in the picture but I had already committed to it so I tried it anyway. It doesn't look any better in person. Maybe fresh apples might help. I cooked mine for 1 hr 10 min and it wasn't soggy but it still doesn't taste wonderful like the other review claim. It was ok for those who like sweet mush for breakfast or lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I gave it 4 stars because even after baking for close to 2 hours and a trip to the broiler it still came out soggy. However, everyone requested it again so next time I'll just try a little thicker bread. I used bread that was medium dense from a local bakery and I think that was my problem. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palmdale, California, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Edible, but bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BootsElven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
It took longer to cook because I had too much in the pan. I think 1 can of apple pie filling would have been enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Slutsky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This is a wonderful brunch recipe – easy preparation and good flavor. I had made it in a round pan so the presentation would be attractive but it fell apart when I inverted the pan. This is probably my fault because I didn’t let it rest long enough and my bread wasn’t as stale as I usually use for French toast so it was a little mushy despite baking it for 70 minutes. But overall, the flavor is very good, and it made a yummy Sunday morning breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I have made this a fewtimes and everyone just loves it! Instead of the canned pie filling, I used fresh apples (3-6), peeled and thinly sliced. I tossed those with 1/2 cup melted butter (3/4 cup leaves a soppy, greasy mess at the bottom), 3/4 cup brown sugar, and 2-3 teaspoons cinnamon. I have always been able to fit eighteen slices of bread in my 9x13 pans (three layers of six). This bakes up perfectly in 70-75 minutes. Spraying the tin foil is an absolute MUST or it will stick. This recipe will be around our house for a long, long time. It's absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristy
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I cut the recipe in half for our family. I also used what bread we had in the house (6 slices, including those scraggy end pieces) and the last 3 hamburger buns. I used a Bundt cake pan - I'll cook according to directions tomorrow am and rate this recipe then! OK, it is the morning now and this was SUPER yummy! It came out very pretty from the bundt pan, although some of the apples slid a bit! I think it would have been prettier if I had powdered sugar to dust the top with. My hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
So delicious!!!! A favorite for any special breakfast or brunch get-to-gether. I have prepared this recipes as directed with no substitutions and it has come out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Super easy, turns out great! A couple of suggestions... I've made this twice now, and it's been a hit both times!!! First time I made a 9x13 and could only fit 18 slices of bread, 2nd time I cut the recipe in half and used an 8x8 and fit about 10 pieces of bread. When it says to "press down", press down with some force, not patting the bread. The first time I made it, I used the canned apple pie filling and it was good, but too sweet (and i LOVE sweet stuff). The 2nd time I peeled and sliced apples, put them in raw, and it turned out awesome! Both times I baked mine no less than an 1hr and20min. I put a cookie sheet lined with tin foil under it to avoid bubbling over. I made sure to spread the egg mixture evenly over the bread w/ spatula, almost rubbing it in. Spraying the tinfoil so it doesn't stick to the bread is helpful. Also, I didn't invert it either time and it presented great and didn't seem to make a difference. People will be asking for the recipe guaranteed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States