Overnight Apple Cinnamon French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
A little too sweet and soggy. I wish I would have broiled longer on low because we liked the crunchy edges. The second time I made this and halved it. Used less than 1/2 cup of butter and less sugar. Cooked longer. Good, but not awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I made this for my husband and my 2 year old and it turned out great! I reduced the recipe to a 9x9 pan since there were only 3 (2 1/2 really) of us and it was still more than enough. I also substitued soy milk for the regular milk because my daughter is allergic to milk and I could not taste a difference. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gurnee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Libertyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Great recipe!! This has become part of our annual Christmas brunch. The only changes I made were to use fresh apples and raisins. Great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I thought this was a bit too sweet. I did use Challah bread so it came out very light. I found it to be like a sweet bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mavis Tobin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Southington, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This was so good and so easy! I made this for a Christmas Day brunch - prepared them xmas eve, and they were a big hit! I had to split the recipe in half and put in 2 smaller pans. I used 3 eggs and 1 cup of milk; I think I'd increase this next time. Having said all this, I'm making it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I rated this a 3 based on appearance. I think I followed the recipe exactly, but even after letting it rest for at least 10 minutes, the topping stuck to the pan and the dish just looked awful. A generous sprinkle of powdered sugar took care of that, and it was very tasty. Don't know if I'd try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Awesome!!!! Such a treat and not hard to make. I shared this recipe with family & told them how wonderful it was. My husband loved it & so did I!! It was a nice change from Bacon & Eggs and really made a special breakfast. It was good as leftovers too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This turned out great. The first time I made it I cut back on the sugar and used the applepie filling...it was great. The second time I made it I still cut back on the amount of sugar but I used splenda. I also made my own apples with fresh apples, a little brown suagar, butter ans mostly splenda. I cooked them in a pan until tender and substituted thenm for the apple pie filling. Very tasty and healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Disappointing. The bread was soggy. I used slices of Cuban bread. Will not make this again. The flavor was good enough to put up with or try to correct the sogginess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Very tasty. I was afraid that it would come out extremely sweet, and I was proved wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fillmore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States