Overnight Apple Cinnamon French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Loved it. Didn't follow recipe exactly. Don't know how you'd get that many bread slices into a 9x13-inch pan so I used 12 slices of bread. Didn't need maple syrup on top -- sweet enough. Next time I'll try using blueberry pie filling. Followed one poster's recommendation and greased tin foil so french toast wouldn't stick to it. I'd also suggest adding some chopped pecans to the brown sugar/butter mixture on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Great recipe! I used 3/4 cup cream and 3/4 cup milk instead of all milk and cinnamon raisin bread instead of white. Turned out wonderful! Made it for Valentine's Day brunch and it was a huge success. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edgewood, Maryland, USA
Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I love this recipe and it has become a Christmas morning tradition in my family. Both my mother and mother in law rave about it - the best thing is how easy it is to put together! I only use 1 cup of milk to help eliminate sogginess, and I also use 1 1/2 cans of pie filling because I can't get it all to fit in the pan. Spray the tin foil with some Pam before covering the pan; it will help prevent the bread from sticking during baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NADINEG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Made this for Superbowl Sunday Brunch and everyone LOVED it. Only switch I made was using the thick texas toast bread instead of french. I am wishing I had a deeper dish though because it bubbled out and over into my oven. (it needed cleaning anyway!) Thanks for the yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNZKITKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This is absolutely delicious! I really smooshed the bread down to make it all fit before I poured in the egg mixture. I cut down on the sugar and cooked it for 1-1/2 hours to fully cook the middle. I also uncovered it for the last 1/2 hour. This was delicious and very filling. You only need 1/2 piece (a hungry guy can eat a whole piece). I only fit six slices in a 9 x 13 pan, too (I was able to get 4 slices high - barely). A new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANDJ0213

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richton Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Gr8eat tasting. I used 7 eggs, Texas toast - which came to about 8 slices, canned milk, and 1 1/2 cans of apple pie filling. The other half of the 2nd can of pie filling was used in an 8x8 dish that I made at the same time. The group that I made it for loved it. The only drawback to the recipe in my opinion, is that it took a full hour and a half to bake. I then drizzled syrup on it and put in under the broiler for about 2 minutes. Will definitely make again, but will keep long baking time in mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This was actually quite delicious, even though I looked away from the broiler for a split second and it started to burn. I quickly took it out and since it is served inverted it was just fine. This is a very rich dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
very good and easy to make! A hit with my family over Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Very good, but unless you want it all over your oven, put a cookie sheet underneath it or use a bigger pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I used fresh apples instead of a canned pie filling. It was great! I took it to my MOPS meeting and had a request to put it on our Yahoo Group so they could all find it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Kay Hagen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States